Home > Iron Pumping Challenge > Iron Pumping Challenge (Day 1) – COMPLETED!!!

Iron Pumping Challenge (Day 1) – COMPLETED!!!

 

YES, I did it!!! 

I completed Day 1 (Tuesday, 1/19/10) of my “Iron Pumping Challenge”!!!  

Only “12” more weeks go go………=) 

So I made it to work on time again this morning as both my daughter & myself were actually running a bit ahead of schedule this  morning and caught the bus just before it pulled off for school.  

Once at work I heated up myself a bowl of instant oatmeal that I added the following too for breakfast

  • spoonful of brown sugar
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/2 a diced apple
  • a few chopped walnuts

Breakfast

An hour or so later I snacked on a lovely sweet & juice clementine

Snack

I pretty much spent the next several hours catching up on work in light of the holiday weekend and finally broke for a very late lunch at 3pm.  I had a tablespoon of Publix roasted red pepper humus with a handfull of whole-wheat pita chips on the side and a little Southwest Salad that I made last night. 

Lunch

The next 2 hours went by quickly and just before I left work for the gym I scarfed down a Publix nosugaradded low-fat blueberry yogurt

Snack

Then 30 minutes later I hit the gym and completed the Day 1 of my “Iron Pumping Challenge”, in which the below was done: 

DAY 1 (TUESDAY) 

  • Sit Ups
    • Bicycles
      • 2 sets of 30 reps
    • flutter kicks
      • 2 sets of 30 reps
    • frog crunches
      • 2 sets of 30 reps
    • knees up crunches
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • oblique v-ups
      • 2 sets of 10 reps each side
  • Shoulder, Chest & Triceps 
    • Bench Dips
      • 2 sets of 10 reps
    • Lateral Raise
      • 2 sets of 10 reps
    • Overhead Press
      • 2 sets of 15 reps
    • Overhead Cable Triceps Extension
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Plank
      • 2, 1 minute poses
    • Stability Ball Leg Lift
      • Not completed, as I had difficulty keeping the ball still.
    • Stability Ball Push Ups
      • 2 sets of 15 reps
  • Treadmill 
    • 3 Mile Run
      • 32 minutes
        • Mile 1 – 5.5 mph
        • Mile 2 – 5.5 to 5.6 mph
        • Mile 3 – 5.6 to 8.0 mph

I was at the gym for a hour & 1/2 exactly, which is all the time I have on Tuesday’s as I have to be home by 7pm…..so I was very happy to have fit all the above in during this time period and I must admit it was a great work out, despite the slight adjustment from my former “well-known” routine.  

My cheat sheets were VERY helpful and I highly recommend them!!! 

 

In addition, I had an AMAZING run!  =)  Which was a very nice change from the not so great runs from last week…..that left me feeling not so hot about myself, but after my run tonight I felt GREAT and the feeling stuck with me all night!  

Once at home I took a much-needed shower, heated up my husbands dinner and munched on my small plate dinner while doing so….that included a clementine, apple slices & peanuts

Dinner

A small plate dinner was not planned but decided on as I wasn’t supper hungry, didn’t want what I made my husband or a salad either…..so the above was made and it was quite yummy.  I also realized that the above made a completely “meat free” day for me, which is nice to do every once in a while. 

 

Chopped followed a bit later after dinner at 10pm.  Tonight’s episode was called “Winging It” and was really good, check out a short description of what happened below on the show: 

The 20-minute clock is the chefs’ worst enemy in the Appetizer Round, as they race to get chicken wings cooked in time.   

Then in the Entrée Round it looks like the chefs have caught a break with catfish in the basket, until hard-to-find pantry items and inadvisable spice combinations make things interesting.   

Then for the Dessert Round, cherries would be no problem. But try cherry tomatoes!  

The finalists laugh it off and courageously take on the toughest challenge of the competition. 

I just love this show and my husband seems to enjoy it as well, though he would watch something else if he had the choice. 

Bed time followed at 11pm. 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

TIP OF THE DAY! 

 

Your A-to-Z Guide to a Flat Belly 

   

N-Nuts, nuts, nuts. 

Dieters who nibbled on 3 ounces of almonds (about 70) every day lost seven inches from their waists, compared with five inches in the non-almond-eating crowd, according to a study in the International Journal of Obesity. 

  

  

Next Post: O-Opt for an empire waist.

  1. Jenny
    January 20, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Congrats on your first pumping day completion!! I am looking into starting to do that as well–I saw it on Catlin’s blog and now can follow your lead as well!

    • January 20, 2010 at 7:27 pm

      Yeah, I was excited when she posted it as I REALLY needed a change in my routine! I enjoyed it a lot, you should go for it as well………=)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

