Home > Iron Pumping Challenge > Caitlin’s Iron Pumping Challenge

Caitlin’s Iron Pumping Challenge

Ok, everyone I have offically signed on via the comments section of Catilin’s “Healthy Tipping Point” blog (see below link) to do the Iron Pumping Challenge along with her over the next 12 weeks and will be starting today, Tuesday, 1/19/10!

http://www.healthytippingpoint.com/2010/01/intro-to-iron-pumping-challenge.html

IRON PUMPING CHALLENGE

Below is Caitlin’s plan that I “tailored” to me and my schedule, it is going to consist of 2 days of weight lifting aka Iron Pumping and like Caitlin’s will be broken down into synergistic muscle groups (shoulders, chest & triceps + legs, back & biceps). 

According to Gina from Fitnessista who helped Caitlin set up this challenge, synergistic muscles act together to perform the same movement (for example:  when you perform a “row”, you’re mainly using your back but the biceps are assisting in the movement, making them synergist muscles). 

So by splitting up the muscle groups this way, it ensures that each group isn’t overworked and has adequate time to repair into lean muscle.

MY PLAN DETAILS: 

  • I will continue to run 3+ days a week.
  • My new strength plan will occur on the same days (every Tuesday & Thursday night after work) as my previous schedule and will continue for 12 weeks or longer if results are seen and it works with my schedule.
  • On my iron pumping days I will continue to do shorter/faster runs (2-3 miles) so that I do not over exert myself.
  • I will do 2 to 3 sets of 10 –12 repetitions of each of the exercises.
  • As the weeks go by I will UP my weight on each of the exercises so that I continue to challenge myself each week as I want my workouts to be challenging, however light enough so that I can fully complete at least 10 reps at that weight for each set.
    • And, to follow what Gina advised Caitlin we should always be pushing ourselves to finish the last two reps of each set…something my husband has told me before as well.  So if you can easily do 15 or more reps of that exercise with the current weight, it’s time to increase the weight!
  • Again, as Gina advised Caitlin on her blog, in order to see the best results, we should continue to try to eat a clean, balanced diet.  So I will do my best to clean up my diet and eat as healthy as possible. 
    • As according to Gina, what we look like is 80% nutrition, 10% working out, & 10% genetics
  • Last by not least by any means I will continue to do at least 10 minutes of sit-ups before my workout.  I plan on doing a mix of the following exercises on each day:
    • bicycles

    • flutter kicks

    • frog crunches

    • knees up crunches

    • oblique v-ups

    • seated tuck on bench

    • stability ball crunch

    • straight leg pullover crunch

    • toe touch crunches

    • weighted v-sit twist

MY PLAN:

Day 1 (Tuesday)

 Shoulders, Chest & Triceps

  • Bench Dips

  • Lateral Raise

  • Overhead Press

  • Overhead Cable Triceps Extension

  • Plank

  • Stability Ball Leg Lift

  • Stability Ball Push Ups

Day 2 (Thursday)

Legs, Back & Biceps

  • Bicep 21s (can use dumbbells or barbells)
    • Stand upright with your back and head straight.
    • Grasping a bar at shoulder width, slowly raise the bar halfway until the bar is parallel with the floor.
    • Do this for 7 reps.
    • Then, without stopping, bring the bar all the way up on the descent stop half way until the bar is parallel with the floor.
    • Do this for 7 reps.
    • Then, without stopping, do 7 full barbell curls

  • Hammer Curls

  • Hamstring Curl

  • Lat Pull Down

  • Leg Extension

  • Lunge & Lift

  • Stability Ball Back Extension

  • Stability Ball Ys & Ts (alternate between “Y” and “T” with light weights – 3 sets of 10 of each)       
    • Lie on the belly on a stability ball.
      • Ys
        • Hang the arms down at the sides, off the bench, and rotate them so that the thumbs are up and leading the way.
        • Squeeze the scapulas together and then lift both arms up toward the head so that you make the letter Y with the arms; slowly lower and repeat.

  • Lie on the belly on a stability ball.
    • Ts
      • Hang the arms down at the sides, off the bench, with palms down.
      • Squeeze the scapulas and raise the arms out to the side to make the letter T; lower and repeat.

  • Step Ups

________________________________________________________________________________________

Check out my cheat sheets below that I got ready for my gym visit that is in about 30 minutes!  =) 

Cheat Sheets

I will be doing the following today:

  1. Sit Ups – 1st Page (5 out of 10 moves)
  2. Day 1 (Tuesday) – Shoulders, Chest & Triceps

Wish me luck!!! 

I am going to need it in order to get “everything” done during the hour & 1/2 I have at the gym tonight as I also need to do a quick 2 mile run on top of the above.

  1. January 20, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Good luck! I have always wanted to set up a weight training plan but I have no idea how to do that so I never do.

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      I have watched what trainers show others in the gym for years now and also learned new moves from magazines & online and then just set up my owner routines with what I learned. You can do it, just takes a little time to learn new moves and put things together. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

