Home > 3 Day Weekend > 3 Day Weekend!

3 Day Weekend!

  

Well, in light of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day I had a “3” day weekend this past weekend!  =)  

Let me take you day by day……….  

Saturday, 1/17/10

I woke up around 8am, took the dog out for a walk and discovered how nice it was outside………..finally NOT cold, but cool & sunny!   

Then, I returned home and had a toasted whole-wheat waffle with chunky peanut butter & raspberry jam on top and a side of melon, plus a glass of water for my pre-run breakfast.  

Breakfast

About an hour later I headed out for my scheduled LONG run, which has been missing from my schedule for several weeks now!  =O  

I wish I could say it was a “great” run, however it was just OK as my 3+ week absence from my long outside runs took its toll on me as I struggled a bit from the start with my breathing.  Then once I finally got that on track by Mile 2 I realized my pace wasn’t doing so good as I was averaging a 13 minute mile pace at that time.  I ended up taking a 2-3 minute walking break at the 1/2 way point, which helped me a lot during Mile 3 but didn’t increase my pace any.  And, as luck would have it just before Mile 4 my knee started to hurt and it got quite windy out as well.  =(  Both of those made my pace slow even more but I kept running, at a snail’s pace, until the END!  I completed my run in approximately 60 minutes, give or take walking before my run and at the halfway point.  

Upon returning home I showered, changed and headed straight for the grocery store………..  

  

 ……..on the drive there I snacked on homemade Pumpkin Bread that my mom gave me last week and much-needed H2O.  

Morning Snack

I got home about an hour+ later, quickly put the groceries away and started on lunch as we all were starving.  I had a Southwest Chicken Salad that included the following:  

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Shredded carrots
  • Celery
  • cucumbers
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Black beans
  • Corn
  • Popcorn chicken
  • Torita chips
  • Newman’s Southwest Dressing

Lunch

It was AMAZING as always!!!  My favorite “go to” salad, as it is always tastes good, with or without chicken.  

An afternoon snack occurred around mid-day as I just had to have one of the clementines I finally purchased at the grocery store in the morning.  I love them but they can be a bit pricey, luckily I found them on sale for $5.99 per carton.  

Snack

The rest of my day was kinda of crazy and I won’t go into detail about it, but I will say that dinner was missed in light of it!  =(  

Sunday, 1/17/10

I slept in until 9:30am on this lovely morning, thanks to my hubby who walked the dog and kept the little one from knocking on our bedroom door!  =)  

Once I woke up I quickly made breakfast as I was STARVING.  A generous size bowl of Frosted Mini Wheats with 2% milk, a side of fruit & a glass of orange juice sufficiently satisfied me.  

Breakfast

The following occurred after breakfast:  

  • Laundry
  • House Cleaning
  • Shower

I then made the Pizza I was planning to make the night before for lunch.  

Pizza (Dough)

Pizza (Toppings)

Lunch

More laundry followed lunch and then a visit to my mother-in-law for a few hours.  I got home just after 6pm and we started making dinner, which was grilled t-bone steak, sweet potato fries and broccoli.  

Dinner

The hubby & I watched Halloween II after dinner and were officially freaked out afterwards as it was what I would say a cross between the original Halloween II movie and Saw, minus all the gory close up torture detail of Saw but lots more close ups and blood then the orignal Halloween II.  

   

It was good for a sequel, but prepare to be freaked out a bit!  

Monday, 1/18/10

The last of my Frosted Mini Shredded Wheat with 2% milk and a glass of orange juice was eating for breakfast this morning.  

Breakfast

My morning was spent doing the last of my laundry, some ironing and a trip to the store with my hubby.  We got back a bit late so lunch ended up being late in light of that.  I was going to make another big salad but had a bowl of the spaghetti I made my daughter and a small side salad instead as it looked so good.  

Lunch1

Lunch2

Around mid-day I put my marinating “Tangy Crock Pot Chicken” in the oven at 250 degrees so it would be ready for dinner around 6pm.  

Marinating Dinner

I got the recipe from the Yes, I want cake blog and you can find it at the below link:  

http://yesiwantcake.com/recipes/delish-dinners/tangy-crock-pot-chicken/  

Tangy Crock Pot Chicken (Recipe)

Despite the fact that I over-cooked it slightly as I cooked it in the oven and not the crock pot and left it in a bit longer (about 45 minutes) then I should, this recipe came out really good.  I would HIGHLY recommend it, just follow the directions to the T or only cook it in the oven at 225 degrees for 3 hours.  

We had it with baby carrots, red potatoes and biscuits for dinner.  

Dinner

I got a chance to play Monopoly with my daughter just before dinner was done and then also had time to read some of my new book Odd Hours by Dean Knootz after dinner, which was really nice as I typically do not have extra time to do these types of things…..but thanks to the 3 Day Weekend I did today!  =)  

P.S.  I highly recommend Dean Knootz books and I love his current serious on Odd Thomas, in which Odd Hours if the 4th book in the series!  They are really good.  I have been reading his books since highschool and love them.  

  

The last of the mini-seedless watermelon we had left in the fridge was eating by my husband and myself later in the evening and was sweet & juicy!  

  

I fell asleep reading my book around 11pm…….YAWN!  

__________________________________________________________________________________________  

Long Weekend Tips!  

  

Your A-to-Z Guide to a Flat Belly  

  K-Kick it up a notch.  

Exercisers who cranked their intensity up to a 6 to 8 on a 10-point scale shed more belly fat than people who phoned it in, according to research done at Duke University.  

 

 

L-Lift. Weights, that is.  

Women who pumped iron twice a week for two years lost more body fat and didn’t gain as much belly fat as women who didn’t lift, according to a study in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition.  

 

 M-Make time for cardio.

People who got regular cardio exercise had less ab pudge than those at the same weight who were sedentary, a study in the Archives of Internal Medicine reports.  

 

 

Next Post:  Caitlin’s Iron Pumping Challenge  

  1. January 19, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad you liked the crock pot chicken! Thanks for the link love! 🙂

    • January 19, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      Yes, we liked it a lot, better if I hadn’t OVERCOOKED it of course……but I am sure I will get it right next time! You are welcome of course, my pleasure. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

