Home > Way Back Wednesday > Way Back Wednesday!!!

Way Back Wednesday!!!

   

Every night during dinner, between 7pm – 8pm, we watch America’s Funniest Home Videos on Bright House Channel #20 (WGN America) and sometimes we are just finishing up at 8pm, which is when Way Back Wednesday with Winslow the guy from all the Police Academy movies back in the 80’s come on the t.v.   

His show, that he hosts, basically takes us back to the 70’s & 80’s by playing various hit films from those decades.   

Next week the movie Spies Like Us with Chevy Chase & Dan Akroyd is playing.  I had completely forgotten about this movie until I saw the preview and was back way back when, to the 80’s, when I watched it several times as I LOVE Chevy Chase and all his movies!   

   

If you haven’t seen this program yet, I highly recommend it!    

Since I am a total 80’s movie buff it is one of my favorites set on my DVR.    

Check out some of my favorites from “way back when”:   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

______________________________________________________________________________________   

Ok, back to PRESENT-DAY now!!!   

We had a slightly “warmer” morning today on this Wednesday, 1/13/10, which was a very nice as once again it wasn’t as hard for me or my daughter to get out of bed as it was on the much colder mornings.    

This morning I had my usual instant maple brown sugar oatmeal with 1/2 a diced apple and cinnamon mixed in for breakfast once I got to work.   

Breakfast

Then around 11pm I had a toasted piece of whole wheat bread with peanut butter and banana on top for what I would call Lunch #1.   

Lunch #1

Lunch #2 came about an hour later as some brought Pizza Hut Pizza in the office…..=O…….and I couldn’t resist having a slice of Hawaiian Pizza as I haven’t had any in ages.   

Lunch #2

And, Lunch #3 came around 3pm and was a big bowl of frozen veggies that I nukked.  

Lunch #3

The eating continued once I got home as I snacked on some seedless watermelon while I prepared dinner.  

Snack

Dinner was finally ready just before 8pm, I know that is a bit late even for me but my husband had an errand to run and didn’t get back until late.  We had pork chops, baked potato and corn on the cob.  

Dinner

Despite my HUGE desire to have yet another snack after dinner I managed to avoid the kitchen and watched “Chopped” with my hubby!  =)  We totally love this show (me more than him, but he watches it for me) and really get into it, trying to guess who will be chopped next and sometimes arguing over the judges opinion and such.  

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

TIP OF THE DAY! 

 

Your A-to-Z Guide to a Flat Belly 

 

I-Interval train. 

Doing 20 minutes of heart-pounding cardio intervals three times a week burned more abdominal fat than spending twice as long doing slow-paced cardio, according to Australian researchers. 

  

What is Interval Training?

Interval training involves doing higher-intensity exercise activities — such as sprinting or race-walking — intermittently rather than continuously. This means you complete a time-limited burst of activity and, during alternating periods, have a “recovery period” that allows you to rest. 

The exercise during interval training is relatively intense. In contrast, low-intensity exercise (such as a beginner aerobics class) allows you to warm up, exercise at a low level of intensity, and then cool down. Interval training may not be appropriate for all exercise beginners

What Is Interval Training Like?

Imagine exercising very hard, relaxing a little while, exercising just as hard again, and repeating the cycle for a set amount of time. An example from the About.com Guide to Exercise: “…if you’re outside, you could run or speedwalk to something in the distance then slow down to recover, repeating the sprint when you feel rested.” 

What Are the Biggest Benefits of Interval Training?

More calories are typically burned during interval training than in lower-intensity exercise because it allows your body to work harder for a longer period of time than if you were training continuously. Therefore, noticeable fitness results may be seen sooner for someone doing interval training than in someone who continuously exercises.

  1. January 14, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Love all of those movies!!! I can watch them all day!

    • January 14, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      Yep, me too and I have SEVERAL times! Like “The Goonies”, my mom said I watched that like 100 times back in the day. =)

  2. Jenny
    January 15, 2010 at 1:32 am

    I love Goonies, Top Gun, Breakfast Club…I watch a lot of them when I am on the treadmill in the morning. I hope my VHS tapes hold up!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

