Home > Warming Up > Finally Warming Up!

Finally Warming Up!

On this Tuesday, 11/12/10…….though only a bit for the next few days as they are saying that by the weekend we could have temperatures in the mid to upper 70’s!  =)  

It was still very cold though this morning when I woke up but by the afternoon we had temperatures in the 50’s for the 1st time since late last week.   

And, YEAH for me as my daughter finally is getting used to the colder temperatures and wasn’t as slow to get out of bed this morning as she has been the past “6” school mornings, which in turn made me late for work each day due to that fact (luckily my boss was much later than me on those same days too).  =O  

So in light of our “on time schedule” I was able to eat breakfast at home before we left so I had a big bowl of mini-shredded wheat and a glass of orange juice on the side.  

Breakfast

Around 11am I had what I will call Lunch #1 on a piece of high-fiber whole wheat bread that I toasted topped with peanut butter and a 1/2 an apple on the side.  

Lunch #1

Then, Lunch #2 called around 2pm and I had the last of my chili that was in the fridge……..wishing there was more at work as I still have some at home!  =(  

Lunch #2

You would think 2 lunches would have quenched my appetite, however it did not so right before I left work to head to the gym I had a Trail Mix Fruit & Nut Bar as a late afternoon snack.  

Late Afternoon Snack

At 5pm I headed straight for the gym and did the following:  

  • 10 minutes of abs
    • bicycles 
    • old fashion crunches 
    • vertical leg crunches
    • leg lifts
  • 20 minutes of upper body weights
    • arms
    • back
    • check
    • shoulders
  • 20 minute 2 mile run
    • 5.7mph to start
    • 7mph to finish

  

I am so happy to say that not only am I “Back On Track” eating wise, I am also back up & running as well.  =) 

Last night I kicked butt on the treadmill

I started out at my average treadmill speed/pace of 5.7mph and stayed there for the 1st mile, then I upped up my speed by 1mph at a time (every 30 seconds to a minute) until I ended at 7mph

So I was booking it the last few minutes and it felt great afterwards, especially after not running but 1 day over the past 3 weeks.  

After leaving the gym I headed home for a quick shower before my daughter got home and then I got dinner all “heated up” as I made it on Sunday it only needed to be nuked.  We dinned on Montreal Red Chicken, Brown Rice & Green Beans.   

Dinner

 It was super yummy, however I only ate about 3/4’s of the chicken and rice shown as I started to fill guilty about eating my entire plate full, since it was a large plate and not a small one. 

See the recipe below if you would like to try your hand at making Montreal Red Chicken, which is a recipe that was handed down to me by my mother-in-law who is from Montreal, Canada and is what I would call a slight twist on American BBQ Chicken.

Montreal Red Chicken

Prep Time:  20-30 minutes
Cook Time:  1 1/2 hour
Ready In:  2 hours 
Yields:  5 servings

INGREDIENTS:
3-6 pieces of white meat skinless boneless chicken
1/4 olive oil
3 gloves of garlic, crushed
1 onion, chopped
1 cup of ketchup
2 tablesppons of hot sauce
1/4 cup of cider vinegar
1/3 cup of sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/2 cup of water
1/2 teaspoon of savory
1 teaspoon of parsley

DIRECTIONS:
Brown chicken on both sides in oil in a fry pan.  Then place in a large casserole dish with a lid.  Add a little more oil into the same pan that fried the chicken in and then add in the onion, garlic, ketchup, hot sauce, vinegar, sugar, salt, water, savory and parsley.  Bring to boil and poor over chicken.  Cover and cook at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours.  Best served the following day or two, just let it sit in the same casserole dish in the fridge until it is time to heat up. 

*Serve with white or brown rice. 
*I like to shred my chicken after nuking as I find it stays moisture this way and sort of reminds me of American pulled chicken or pork. 

A cold and breezy dog walk with my hubby followed dinner.  Then we surfed the t.v. looking for something to watch without much luck before bed time.  Oh, we did cut into the seedless watermelon I had on the counter as a late night snack as well.  

Late Night Snack

Bed time came a bit after 11pm and I slept really good for a change, think my lack of “running” really played a part in my broken sleep recently.  Isn’t it amazing all the benefits that running has!?!?  

______________________________________________________________________________________  

TIP OF THE DAY!  

  

Your A-to-Z Guide to a Flat Belly  

  

H-Have whole grains.  

Obese adults who slashed calories and added whole grains (think brown rice, oatmeal) to their diets lost more belly fat than dieters who ate refined grains (like white bread), a study in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition says.  

 

  1. Jenny
    January 14, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Congrats on the great treadmill run! It feels great to get a good workout in after missing them! How is your dog doing? I was thinking about you when I had an owner with a chihuahua come in yesterday–those little dogs have such a Napoleon complex!!

    • January 14, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      Yeah, you I hope I can have another great run tonight as well! She is doing better actually, we are much more aware about leaving things around that she would be “tempted” to steal and chew, which of course is their nature, and we always keep a eye on her so she knows that and she has improved greatly but we know we can’t let up of course. Yes, they totally have a Napoleon complex that is for sure….lucky for them they are so ADORABLE! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

