4 Days Off…..

…….in a row!!!  =)

And, not a bit of it spent resting………=O 

I am going to take you through all “4” days so please bare with me! 

Friday, 12/18/09 

This day was supposed to be spent doing some holiday shopping, however it totally got away from me and NO shopping was done at all! 

For breakfast I had a bowl of Raisin Bran Extra cereal with 2% milk and some melon on the side

Breakfast

Than around 2pm I met my BFF, Amy, for lunch at “Olive Garden”, which has become a holiday tradition for the two of us.  We ordered  soup, salad & breadsticks…..plus some alfredo sauce for dipping.  And, then she split a tiramisu for desert. 

Lunch1

Lunch2

Lunch3

Lunch4

We dinned on the above for about 2 hours and did a lot of catching up.  I look forward to our holiday tradition every year, especially this year as I have been so busy these past few months that I haven’t been able to see her or talk to her much so I was very happy to see her today!!!  =)  Dinner ended up being a bit light as I was still full from my large lunch.  I nibbled on Chipotle’s chips & salsa that I added some black beans & corn so that it would be a bit more nutritious.

Dinner

Saturday, 12/19/09

I had the last of my Raisin Bran Extra cereal with 2% milk for breakfast before I went out for my planned “long” run this morning, sorry forgot the picture.  

My run ended up only being 4 miles as my knee started to hurt again (3 weeks in a row now), just before the 1/2 way point of my run and on the way home I had to stop twice to run because of it and also had to “slow” down quite a bit towards the end as well.  So it took me just under and hour to run 4 miles.  =(  This was very disappointing to me as I was feeling really good.  The weather was chilly but sunny, my breathing was great and I didn’t feel tired at all either.  I think I could have done 6 miles or more if it wasn’t for my knee……….I am going to have to get a brace & new shoes soon!  

I skipped lunch today as we were heading to my Grandparents house at 4pm for their annual Holiday Gathering and I knew there would be lots to eat & drink there!  In fact I ate a lot while there, I took my camera but got caught up visiting with everyone that I totally forgot about it so here is a run down of what I ate:  

  • shrimp & cocktail sauce
  • little sandwich
  • crackers & brie
  • grapes & strawberries
  • devil egg
  • pasta, tuna & macaroni salads
  • petite vanilla/strawberry filling cakes
  • 2 glasses of white wine

And, you might have guessed I also skipped on dinner as I was plenty full after eating all of the above!  

Sunday, 12/20/09  

I only had a cup of coffee (not pictured) for breakfast this morning as I headed right to the grocery store after waking up as fridge & pantry were EMPTY!!!   I did snack on an apple while shopping to hold me over though.

Snack

After getting home and unpacking everything I started cleaning the house and doing some laundry as well.  Then I broke for a very late lunch around 3pm and had Boar’s Head oven-gold turkey & white american cheese with lettuce & tomato on multi-grain bread that I pressed with chips & baby carrots on the side.

Lunch

I finished cleaning, took a shower and started my prep work for dinner.

Then we went to my Mother-In-Law’s for a visit and had dinner around 7pm, which was Pizza……….YUMMY!  =)

Dinner

The rest of the night was spent relaxing on the couch.  I was looking forward to watching some holiday movies, but there weren’t any on…..=(

Monday, 12/21/09  

My final day off was spent doing “lots of chores” around the house, however I started the morning off for me and my daughter (hubby was at work) with a big breakfast.  We had scrambled eggs, sausage, toast with raspberry jelly, melon & strawberries on the side and a glass of orange juice.

Breakfast

I then did a few things on the computer, some ironing, laundry and took a nice long hot bath as it was actually very chilly outside today.

Around noon we had lunch.  I had a southwest salad, minus the chicken.

Lunch

I snacked on a banana between lunch and dinner time.

Snack

I tried to venture out to do some shopping, but quickly returned home after visiting Walmart and getting VERY FRUSTRATED while there!  So in light of that dinner ended up being early, around 6pm.  We had bbq chicken wings, with baked potoates and corn on the cob.

Dinner

I was cracking sweets later in the evening but didn’t have any that I really wanted (Christmas Cookies) so I munched on a few handfuls of honey roasted peanuts, which always helps when I have this craving! 

_________________________________________________________________________________________

4 DAYS OF TIPS!!!

Eat What You Want—and Still Lose Weight!

4) Take Dainty Bites

You know better than to shovel in your food, but even the average mouthful may be your dietary downfall. According to a new study in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, people who took bites about the size of a tablespoon ate 25 percent more at a meal than those who took teaspoon-size ones. “Smaller mouthfuls—of any kind of food—slow down the pace of a meal and extend the amount of time you spend tasting the food,” says Richter, “so you feel satisfied with less.”

Avoid taking a full fork or spoonful; your food should cover less than half the utensil. (At home, eat your meals with a salad fork or teaspoon.) Also, reach for the smallest plate you can find: Research shows people polish off nearly everything they’re served, so you’ll eat about 20 percent less if you use a salad plate rather than a dinner-size one or a cup instead of a bowl. In fact, a recent study from Cornell University found that people who had a large bowl of ice cream with a big spoon took in about 53 percent more—or roughly 74 additionalcalories—than those who were given a smaller dish and spoon.

5) Think Before You Eat

Just because your co-worker brought in her famous chocolate peppermint bark doesn’t mean you need to eat it until you feel ill. “Many women think they have to fit in all their favorite dishes now because the holidays come only once a year,” says Richter.

Before you reach for a treat, stop to ask yourself how hungry you are—and whether you really want it. “Also, remind yourself that there will be plenty of other opportunities to indulge all season,” she says. If you’re already full but can’t bear to pass up those goodies, consider having just a tiny taste or saving them for another day. (You can even extend the season by stashing that treat in the freezer for a few months.)

6) Stay On The Move

Gym attendance plummets in November and December, reports the International Health, Racquet, and Sportsclub Association. But working up a sweat is especially important during these months. “Not only does exercise burn calories,” says Bermudez, “it also boosts mood and tames stress.” And that’s an especially good thing, since a recent survey from the American Psychological Association revealed that 41 percent of women say they turn to food to soothe their frazzled nerves during the holidays. Try hitting the treadmill instead: A study from Britain’s Loughborough University found that people who ran for an hour experienced a greater dip in their hunger level than those who lifted weights for 90 minutes. Researchers say aerobic exercise boosts the production of peptide YY, a protein shown to suppress appetite.

No time to get to the gym? Sneak in a little exercise by taking a fastpaced stroll around the neighborhood before work, popping in a dance DVD, or doing one of the three 15-minute cardio workouts featured in “Beat Winter Weight Gain,” page 114.

Still, even if you do fit in a good workout, don’t use that as a free pass to load up on snickerdoodles. “One exercise session won’t immediately cancel out the hundreds of extra calories you consume,” says Richter. If you know you’re going to be tempted, she recommends tacking on an extra 10 or 15 minutes to your normal routine.

7) Start Skinng Sipping

With just 123 calories for a 5-ounce glass, wine is a calorie bargain compared to other alcoholic beverages, like gin and tonic (164 calories), buttered rum–spiced cider (275 calories), and eggnog (321 calories). “Plus, you’re not as likely to guzzle a glass of wine the way you might a mixed drink,” says Jamieson-Petonic. If you’re in the mood for a cocktail, feel free— but have only one alcoholic beverage before switching to a lower-calorie drink, like iced tea or sparkling water with a twist of lemon or lime.

Regardless of the drink you choose, don’t pour yourself a glass until you sit down to dinner. “Alcohol loosens your inhibitions and stimulates your appetite,” says Jamieson- Petonic. By pairing that pinot with a meal, however, you may compensate for those extra calories in your glass by eating a little less of what’s on your plate: Research from Colorado State University found that people who sipped wine with their evening meal every night for six weeks didn’t put on any weight.

Next Post Keep Your Focus & Seize Some ZZZ’s

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

