10 Days Until Christmas…..

………and counting!!!  =O

My weekend was quite busy, but full of lots of fun activities that allowed me to spend time with several of my family members & friends!  =) 

Here is how my Saturday, 12/12/09 went! 

We woke up just before 8am.  

My husband took the dog for a walk while I made a quick breakfast for myself, which included one piece of toasted whole grain waffle that I topped with peanut butter, 1/2 a sliced banana and a little maple syrup.  

Plus, a glass of water

Breakfast

 About an hour after eating the above I ventured out to my planned long run for the morning just after 9am.  My run lasted about 60 minutes and I completed just under 5 miles in all.  The 1st part of my run was very nice.  I took a short walking break 1/2 way through and then two more on the way home as my knee started to hurt again…….=(  I think I am going to have to get a knee brace for my left knee if this keeps happening! 

A nice long shower followed my run and then I made some lunch.  I had left over burrito filling with some cheese in a small tortia with lots of lettuce & tomato on top

Lunch

We hung around the house for most of the early part of the afternoon.  My daughter and the dog enjoyed some time outside playing in the beautiful weather. 

My daughter & our dog playing outside!

Than we headed out to some stores in the late afternoon to do a little shopping as a family.  

Than around 6pm we headed to my cousin’s house for a Holiday Dinner Party he & his girlfriend were throwing for the family.  Their home was decorated really nice and there was tons of good food & drinks to go around.  Just before 8pm we sat down for dinner.  I had the following: 

  • Ham w/Glaze
  • Mac & Cheese
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Spinach, Strawberry & Walnut Salad
  • Baked Sweet Potatoes Casserole
  • Mini Corn Muffin

Dinner

NOW, I will admit I went back for 2nd’s & then 3rd’s as the mac & cheese was “amazing” and the salad was very good as well.  I also had 2 large glasses of white wine and desert, which was Paula Dean’s red velvet cake bread pudding (YUMMY) and a few sugar cookies.  

As you can imagine I was full by the end of the night and also tired, I literally passed out on the couch after getting home a little before 10pm. 

On to Sunday, 12/13/09……… 

Yesterday, was busy but today was “crazy busy”!  

I woke up just before 8am, walked the dog and then headed straight for the grocery store as I did not get their yesterday and we needed food badly.  

About an hour later I was back home and quickly got myself & my daughter ready to go to church to see her friend who was putting on a Holiday Play that morning at 10am.  We just made it on time and really enjoyed the play.  After my daughter went to lunch with her friend and her family and I headed home to do a bunch of chores. 

The 1st one was making lunch as I was starving because I did not have any breakfast this morning!  =O  I made both my husband & I salads.  I had a southwest chicken salad that included the following: 

  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Celery
  • Cucumbers
  • Carrot Sticks
  • Black Beans
  • Corn
  • Tortia Strips
  • Popcorn Chicken
  • Newman’s Southwest Dressing

Lunch

 Oh, while making the above I snacked on a fresh pineapple ring

Snack

After lunch I did some laundry, mopped and made Stuffed Green Peppers.  I started to take pictures of me making the peppers, but I got sidetracked and forgot to finish.  I promise to do so next time, however it is very simple to make……just follow the below recipe (I use brown rice instead of white though): 

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Stuffed-Green-Peppers-I/Detail.aspx 

Than I picked up my daughter and headed to my Mother-In-Law’s house for dinner around 4pm.  She made her famous Roast Beef with a small baked potato, some veggies and a dinner roll on the side.  I also had a cup of tea after dinner. 

Dinner

We hung around until a bit before 7pm and then went home as we wanted to put the ornaments on the Christmas Tree and also get our stockings up. 

Christmas Tree w/Ornaments

Stockings

 I pretty much passed out after this long and busy, but very enjoyable day!!!__________________________________________________________________________________ 

 TIP OF THE WEEKEND! 

 

Eat, Drink, and Still Shrink (continued) 

At a Party

Cosmos and crab puffs and cake, oh my! It’s a diet minefield of appetizers, cocktails, and (cue the scary music) the buffet. Those petite plates look innocent, but two scoops of spinach-artichoke dip with a handful of pita chips, a couple of slices of bruschetta, and — yikes! — you just downed nearly 500 calories. The worst part? The skimpy snacks don’t even fill you up. 

Trim Tactics

Work the room. Marcy Luhrs Brye, 30, an advertising executive in Richmond, Virginia, makes a beeline for friends she hasn’t seen in a while as soon as she arrives. “Nonstop chatting keeps me too busy to overeat,” she says. “It’s always the parties where I’m bored that I find myself mindlessly wandering over to the dessert table.” 

Spread yourself thin. University of Minnesota studies found that you’re more likely to overdo it when you see a variety of foods, so pick just a trio of safe bets: Think special-occasion foods like shrimp cocktail, prosciutto-wrapped melon, and caviar. You’ll feel like you’re indulging, but they’re often lower in calories than such fried faves as chicken fingers and crab cakes, Fernstrom notes. Same goes for cocktails. Your skinniest pick is a flute of Champagne (about 85 calories). 

 
Schedule a sweat session. Rebecca Lillis, 28, a teacher in Greenport, New York, books a training session for the morning after a bash. “It keeps me in check all evening,” she says, “because I know I’ll be wasting time and money if I’m too full or hung over to have a good workout.” So make plans to go for an a.m. jog with a pal.
  1. December 14, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    I managed to stay away from goodies at a party this weekend, but had too many glasses of wine. lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

