Let The Season Begin!!!

So it is official!!!    

It is finally Tuesday, December 1st!  =)   

Once again I am doing my best to eat “healthy” and get my running/gym time in this week so I can make up for the end of last week and be good as long as I can before it happens again (this Friday)!   

Breakfast was eaten at home before leaving for work and I had one of my favorite cereals, Frosted Shredded Wheat, with 2% milk and 1/2 a banana.   

Breakfast

 

Lunch came even earlier today, just before 1pm, due to the fact that I ate breakfast about an hour earlier than usual this morning.  I had tuna on high-fiber whole wheat bread with baby carrots & 1/2 an apple on the side.   

Lunch

 

After 4pm I snacked on a Nature’s Own Trail Mix Fruit & Nut Bar that was much better than I expected.  My boss gave me a handful of them that I stashed in my draw awhile ago and 1st tried today.  

Snack

 

Once 5pm hit I was on my way to the gym and did the following:  

  • 15 minute of abs (crunches, leg lifts, sides w/ball & yoga “boat pose”)
  •  

  • 25 minutes of upper body weight machines (arms, back & chest)
  • 30 minutes cardio (treadmill)
    • 20.40 minute, 2 mile “fast” run (5.5mph – 7.5mph)
    • 9.60 minute “slow” walk (2.5-3.0 mph)

I haven’t been on the “treadmill” for over 2+ months, since September, when I started training for the 10K (that I did a few weeks ago) as I did other cardio while at the gym as recommended by my 10K Training Program, so it was really nice to get back on it and I was VERY surprised to see how much better my running was on it!!!  =O   

I was able to run faster (going from 5.2-5.5mph previously to 5.5 to 5.7mph regular speed for most of my run) and I was also able to complete “2” miles in 20 minutes & 40 seconds without it being difficult, unlike in the past when I would really have to push myself to do it in under 22 minutes!   

So my average treadmill “mile” is now approximately 10 minutes & 20 seconds……..which is amazing as I used to run it in 13 minutes (way back when), was stuck at 12 minutes for what seemed liked forever and recently (since summer) tried to stay at 11 minutes reguarlly……..so I am SO HAPPY if you can’t tell already!!!  =) 

Once home I heated up dinner (that I cooked on Sunday), which was Montreal Red Chicken, a recipe from my husband’s mom, with white rice & green beans

Dinner

 

A nice long, much-needed, shower followed dinner and then some xBox & t.v. time followed that until both the hubby & I fell asleep on the couch! 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

TIP OF THE DAY! 

 

The Real Reasons We EAT TO MUCH (continuted) 

2. You’re sabotaged by stress
Constant stress causes your body to pump out high doses of hormones, like cortisol, that over time can boost your appetite and lead you to overeat. “Cortisol and insulin shift our preferences toward comfort foods—high-fat, high-sugar, or high-salt foods,” says Elissa Epel, PhD, an associate professor at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), Department of Psychiatry and a leader of the UCSF Center on Obesity Assessment, Study, and Treatment. 

Fat cells also produce cortisol, so if you’re overweight and stressed, you’re getting a double-whammy in terms of exposure. Overweight women gained weight when faced with common stressors such as job demands, having a tough time paying bills, and family-relationship strains, according to a study published in the American Journal of Epidemiology

Cortisol, together with insulin, also causes your body to store more visceral fat, which is a risk factor for heart attack and stroke, Epel notes. What’s more, stress makes it harder to stick with a healthy eating plan. “It’s a reason why people go off diets,” notes Marci Gluck, PhD, a clinical research psychologist at the Obesity and Diabetes Clinical Research Section of the National Institutes of Health in Phoenix. Folks who normally restrict their eating, tend to overeat in response to stress. 

How to get control:
Sure, real-life pressures can put you in nonstop-nibble mode. But working stress-reduction techniques into your busy days can really help. Yoga, meditation, and deep-breathing exercises are powerful tools that keep tension in check. And spending 20 minutes doing progressive muscle relaxation—alternately tensing and relaxing muscle groups—significantly lessens stress, anxiety, and cortisol, according to a study published in the International Journal of Obesity and Related Metabolic Disorders

Exercise will also do the trick. “Try dancing to your favorite tunes, running in place, playing a sport, or taking a simple walk,” says Elisa Zied, RD, an ADA spokeswoman and author of Nutrition at Your Fingertips. When you’re feeling edgy, make a habit of turning to these activities rather than diving into your candy stash. If you’re feeling completely overwhelmed by stress, talk to a counselor who specializes in stress management. 

Tomorrow: You’ve got fatty foods on the brain

  1. Jenny
    December 2, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Congrats on the improved running speed. It does give such a sense on accomplishment! I love running on the treadmill (a must as my husband leave for work at 3am and I am alone with the kids in the am-my workout time). IT has given me the confidence to increase my speed and pace myself, which in translating to better outside milage times!

    • December 2, 2009 at 7:26 pm

      Thank you!!! Yeah, I used to only run on the treadmill in the past (prior to 10K Training) as I did not like running in the Florida weather (part of Spring, Summer & part of Fall), but I now like running outside a lot to and it helped me get better so you can’t beat that. =) By the way, how did your race go????

  2. December 3, 2009 at 4:19 am

    I try to eat a healthy snack and do yoga for stress. Gets hard sometimes. I didn’t know trail mix has a bar…yummy looking.

    What training program did you use for the 10k?
    I’ve got a 5k this month but possibly doing a 10k in March. I’m looking at different programs trying to choose!

  3. Jenny
    December 3, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Well, I am happy to say I finished in 1:45:11, which put me at an average just under 8 minute miles. I would have never guessed I could do that, but the adrenaline rush was something else! I also found a pace team for 1:50 completion time, which really helped take my mind off the length and focus on each mile at a time. My son’s little voice kept echoing-you can do it mommy!! That helped a lot!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

