Home > Drink & Lose, Family, Holiday, Tips > HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!

Yeah, it is finally Thursday, 11/26/09……….better known as TURKEY DAY!!!  =)

We all slept this morning until 8:30a.m. and if you follow my blog you know that is a “late” morning for us.  After waking I walked the dog and then made some breakfast that included a cup of coffee with irish cream creamier mixed in and then two pieces of multi-grain toasted bread with peanut butter & 1/2 a sliced banana on one and a little bit of butter and raspberry jelly on the other.

Breakfast

I waited about an hour and then headed out for my planned long run.  An hour and 15 minutes later I was home after completing a little over 6 miles (6.15 in all).  It was a bit chilly during the first 1/2 of my run but started to warm up a the 1/2 way point so I took off my long sleeve and tied it around my waist.  Overall it was a very nice and easy run.  I only stopped and walked around mile 3 for about 30 seconds or so.  My knee did start to hurt a bit during the last part of my run but it did not bug me to much, luckily.  I am finding this happening after my fast runs and long runs.  I think I might have to start icing it if it continues.

Upon my return home I took a nice long hot shower.  Then I had a glass of cold chocolate milk to help in my recovery and snacked on some melon a bit after (sorry forgot pictures again).  I than made lunch for the hubby & little one.  I skipped lunch myself as I wasn’t hungry and knew we would be eating a big “Thanksgiving” meal soon.

Around 3pm we headed to my Mother-In-Laws for our 1st meal of the day.  I ate lightly at her house and only got a picture of the amazing Lemon Custard Cake desert my Brother-In-Law made, it was so light & fluffy and amazingly good. 

Desert

After 5pm we headed to my Aunt & Uncles house for our 2nd meal of the day, which was much more feeling then my 1st and left me VERY FULL!!!  You will see why below!!!

Dinner

I only ate about 3/4’s of the plate as even though my mind was saying yummy and I want it all my stomach was saying “no, no…I can’t hold anymore”.  =O  I also had a few glasses of wine and a small slice of Pumpkin Pie w/cool whip on top for desert.

We got home just before 10pm and I veggied on the couch until past mid-night.

I hope everyone had a great holiday! 

Mine was great, as I was very happy to get to spend it with all my wonderful family and I am looking forward too all the holiday events to come!  =) 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!!!

Holiday Hang-Up #2:

“I tell myself it’s OK to eat whatever I want because it’s the holidays.”

Solution:

The next time you’re tempted to say, “What the heck?” I’ll have another desert,” pause and think about the future.  “Ask yourself, ‘How do I want to feel in January? Good because I stayed in control or bad because I fooled myself into thinking I could eat whatever I wanted?”  Try patrolling the party circuit with a friend who knows your goals – – hello, accountability! – or programming a stickt-to-your-goals message to pop up on your phone.  But don’t get to hard-core about cutting out holiday favorites.  “Giving yourself a regular treat can keep you from feeling deprived, so you won’t be as prone to bigger slipups.

Categories: Drink & Lose, Family, Holiday, Tips
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

