Home > Newman's Southwest Dressing, Running, Work > Take My Daughter To Work Day!

Take My Daughter To Work Day!

My daughter came with me to work on this Monday, 11/23/09 as she has the week off of school, however both me & her Dad had to work! 

We backed her DS, laptop and a book she has to finish reading for school this week so she wouldn’t get bored in the office and headed out after she had breakfast of course.  I myself had breakfast after getting to work and quickly whipped up my usual cinnamon brown sugar instant oatmeal with diced apples mixed in.

Breakfast

Everything kept her occupied until almost noon and then she started getting a bit bored.  I was able to stretch things until 2pm and then we had to finally leave as she was starving and I did not have any lunch for her in the office, so we stopped and got some McDonalds for her on the way home and I had a bowl of chili and cheese for my lunch after we got home.

Lunch

I then waited a few hours and headed out for a “fast” 3 mile run that I completed in just over 30 minutes, to my surprise as I had missed 2 runs last week and surely thought I would have a hard time bouncing back but I guess the amazingly cool weather and the fact that I was jones to run helped!  =)

After my run I took a MUCH NEEDED shower, rested a bit and then got cracking on dinner…..which was re-heated some chicken that I cut up and mixed in a Chicken Southwest Salad for myself that included the following:

  • romaine lettuce
  • cherry tomatoes
  • celery
  • cucumbers
  • carrots
  • black beans
  • corn (off the cob)
  • white meat chicken
  • torita strips
  • Newman’s Southwest Dressing

Dinner

Some t.v. time followed dinner until bed time at 11pm.

___________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

Rule #7: Go like Gumby.
Consistent stretching significantly decreases muscle soreness, according to a study at the Norwegian Knowledge Centre for Health Services in Oslo. Skipped your stretches postexercise? Wind down with this 17-minute allover loosener from Jennifer Huberty, PhD, an exercise physiologist at the University of Nebraska at Omaha.
  • Warm up first with 5 minutes of brisk high-knee marching.
  • Toe-reach stretch (targets hamstrings, which remain shortened all day as you’re seated): Sit on the floor with your left leg straight in front of you, knee slightly bent, right leg bent out to the side and resting on the floor. Reach for your toes without bouncing and hold for 30 seconds; relax. Do 3 stretches, then switch legs and repeat.
  • Hip-flexor stretch (targets hips, which also are tight in desk jockeys): Lie faceup on the floor with your left leg bent, left foot flat, and bend your right knee out to the side so your right ankle is crossed over and resting on the lower left thigh. Grasp your left thigh with both hands and pull it toward you until you feel a comfortable stretch in your right hip, glutes, and outer thigh. Hold for 30 seconds; switch legs and repeat. Do 3 stretches per side.
  • Side stretch (targets upper back and waistline): Stand with feet shoulder-width apart. Raise arms overhead and interlock fingers with palms facing up. Keeping your middle centered, hinge at the waist to the right; hold for 30 seconds. Return to center and reach up; hold for 30 seconds.
  • Switch sides; repeat. Do 3 stretches on each side.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

