Bad Luck Comes In 3’s

Well my weekend was full of “bad luck”, however I am not going to dwell on it and will be letting it go and hoping the new week ahead will bring the opposite, but I wanted to mention it because it put me and my schedule off track all weekend long!  =(

It all started on Saturday, 11/21/09.

I woke up around 8am, walked the dog, got into my running cloths and was just taking my first bite of my breakfast when the 1st of the bad luck hit.  After I did not feel like eating but I ate as much as I could of my whole wheat toast with peanut butter & sliced banana on top and ended up tossing a few bites in the trash.

Breakfast

My appetite pretty much was NON-EXISTANT the rest of the day.  I did nibble on a cookie that Jai Lei’s friends mom sent me home with after I picked her up from their house.  I also skipped my schedule run and grocery shopping trip as well, which threw my entire day off track. 

So as you might of guess lunch was skipped and later in the early evening the 2nd bought of bad luck hit, rounding out the “yucky” day. 

I was able to recover and ended up dropping my daughter at a Birthday Slumber Party that I originally was going to have her skip since she stayed Friday night out at a friends but I thought it best in light of the day we had.

On the way home I picked up “Chipotle” for dinner as I was in no mood to cook as you might have guessed.  I got my usual chicken burrito bowl with rice, black beans, pico, lettuce, corn, cheese & a little sour cream.  I usually only eat 1/2 but this time I finished the WHOLE thing as I was starving.

Dinner

Some much-needed REST came after dinner and then bed!

______________________________________________________________________________________

Sunday, 11/22/09 was a little better than yesterday, however it was when the 3rd (and hopefully FINAL) bought of bad luck hit so I can’t say it was much better now!  =(

It started just before 8am and my morning went like this:

  • Walked the dog
  • Started laundry
  • Cleaned the “entire” house
  • Picked up my daughter
  • Went grocery shopping

I did end up eating a little more today luckily, however I did miss breakfast and ended up snacking on a banana just after noon.

Snack

Then I made my husband & daughter some lunch and after that I also made some Chocolate Chip Cookies as a treat for them (and me too) as they have been bugging me to make for a while now.  I had a few myself, with a glass of milk.

Treat

I used the following brand when making the cookies.  Both me and my daughter liked them, however my (spoiled) husband did not so much as he of course is used to getting cookies from scratch throughout his childhood.

Dinner ended up being “Five Guys” as I again did not feel like cooking!  I had my usual little cheeseburger with lettuce, tomato, pickles and ketchup and some of their amazing fries on the side, it was YUMMY….nothing like a good cheeseburger & fries to perk me up!  =)

Dinner

Now, I do not usually get “take out” or “fast food” twice in two days or during the weekend, however sometimes things go that way and exceptions have to be made!  Luckily, for me the scale did not freak out due to both!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

WEEKEND TIPS!!!

Rule #5: Take a power walk to beat a midday slump.

Call it the 20-20 rule: As little as 20 minutes of low-intensity aerobic activity such as walking can give you a 20 percent surge in energy, research at the University of Georgia in Athens finds. “It’s paradoxical: Many people assume that they’ll get tired from exercise. But the opposite actually happens,” says study author Patrick O’Connor, PhD, a professor of kinesiology. “We’re not certain what the biological mechanism is,” he says, “but indirect evidence suggests that brain chemicals such as dopamine and serotonin are altered and cause the improved energy.” Besides, that quick recharge just burned about 75 calories. Sure beats adding 250 spike-then-slump calories’ worth of Skittles.

Rule #6: Do the two-step.

When you opt for the stairs, go at them two at a time — as long as you’re not wearing heels. The quick bursts of power activate your legs’ fast-twitch muscle fibers, which burn more calories than slow-twitch fibers. Plus, you’ll be using a part of your muscles that commonly doesn’t get enough action. “Fast muscle cells are designed so you can jump far, kick hard, punch fast — moves that you call on less and less in modern society,” says Scott Mazzetti, PhD, a professor of exercise science at Salisbury University in Maryland. “But unfortunately it’s a use-them-or-lose-them situation, so it’s good to activate them regularly.”

  1. Jenny
    November 25, 2009 at 2:23 am

    Sorry to hear about your bad luck this weekend. There must be a black cloud over most of the southeast because last week was long week for me as well. I ended up all over the place with my food intake, especially sweets which I run to when stressed. Hopefully your bad luck is up and Thanksgiving will be great!!

  2. November 25, 2009 at 3:09 am

    I love 5 guys!!! they are so good. Sorry about your weekend 😦 This is a fresh new week though! Brand new start to everything 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

