Home > Birthday, Friends, Gym, Oatmeal > Birthday Lunch

Birthday Lunch

It is my friend and fellow co-worker’s birthday today on this fine Thursday, 11/19/09!  =)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LINDSAY!!!

I had some maple brown sugar instant oatmeal with 1/2 a diced apple and a dash of cinnamon for breakfast this morning.

Breakfast

Around 1pm I headed out for the Birthday Lunch.  We ate at a local downtown restaurant named “Ember”, which is beautiful inside and out.  Plus the food is amazing.  I had one of my favorites a BBQ Chicken Flatbread and a unsweetened iced tea.

Lunch

I ate all the above but “1” piece and I really wanted to eat that but I knew we would be having cake later so I left it on my plate.

Just before 4pm I headed over to my friend’s office for some Chocolate Fudge Cake from Publix, I had a small slice and left the icing on top of my piece on the plate.  I only got a picture of the birthday girl & her cake before my camera died, so sorry you couldn’t see my slice, but I promise it was small.

After work I headed straight to the gym and completed the following:

  • 10 minutes of abs (crunches, leg & but lifts and sides)
  • 20 minutes of lower body weight machines (leg lifts & extensions, squats, inner & outer thighs)
  • 30 minutes of cardio (elliptical)

Since I had a piece of cake I only had a small salad for dinner, plus I did snack on some mixed nuts as well a little later in the evening when my stomach started grawling.  They always help curb my hunger, learned this trick from my hubby.  =)

Dinner

A shower, dog walk and t.v. time followed dinner “of course” (my usual routine these days)!  Bed didn’t come until almost 12am though as me and the hubby had a lot of DVR recordings to catch up on.

________________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!!!

Rule #3: Push your pace, rev your metabolism.

Finished toning and ready to get sweaty? Gun it a bit for a bigger afterburn. “High-intensity exercise increases the release of growth hormones, which mobilize fat to be used as fuel, plus it causes your metabolism to stay elevated about 10 to 15 percent above its baseline, so you’re burning more fat for several hours post-workout,” says Arthur Weltman, PhD, director of the Exercise Physiology Laboratory at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. In other words, if you worked off 300 calories during your session, you’ll get a bonus burn of about 45 calories even after you’ve toweled off.

To net the effect, stick to a speed you consider challenging: In a 16-week study that Weltman conducted with obese women, those who worked out at what they felt was high intensity (a brisk walk or jog in most cases) three days a week and at low intensity for two whittled an inch and a half more from their waists than the low-intensity-only group. Or try alternating between sprinting (racewalking, pedaling fast, swimming at top speed) for one minute and slowing down enough to recover for the next minute.

Categories: Birthday, Friends, Gym, Oatmeal
  1. November 20, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    The flatbread looks amazing! Glad you had a great day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

