Think Outside The Bun….

…………Wednesday, 11/18/09!!!

It is finally “hump day”, all down hill from this point on and next week is a short week (work wise) so I am looking forward to some time off and a long weekend!   =)

My breakfast was once again at home this morning and was MulitGrain Cheerios with 2% milk and a glass of orange juice.

Breakfast

My tummy started “grumbling” around 11am and I was not quite ready for lunch at that point so I had a Late Morning Snack instead, which consisted of toasted high-fiber whole wheat bread with peanut butter and 1/2 an apple on the side.

Late Morning Snack

Some late afternoon “outside” errands made my lunch very delayed and I did not end up eating until around 3pm.  Once I was back in the office I quickly heated up some chili with some cheese mixed in.

Late Lunch

After work I headed Park to do my scheduled 30 minute run, which ended up being a “fast” run for me as I got to the park late and was really tight on time.  I ended up completing 2.5 miles (approximately).

 There were a few stops between the Park and home I had to make so I got home a little later than I had hoped, so dinner was ready until almost 8pm in light of that but it happens that way sometimes.  We had taco’s with yellow rice that had corn & black beans mixed in and that I topped with cheese & tomatoes as well.

Dinner

A nice long walk with the dog followed dinner as I felt a bit full and wanted to get a little exercise in so the food in my belly would start to burn off.  I watched some t.v. after the walk and then my bed called early tonight around 10:30p.m.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

Rule #2: Hit the metal before the pedal.

Instead of going from zero to 60 to sweat off the calories, consider this: Doing a quick sculpting routine pre-cardio could increase the amount of fat you melt. Exercisers in a study at the University of Tokyo who biked within 20 minutes of lifting weights tapped more of their fat stores than those who rested longer or didn’t tone at all.

The firm-then-burn order is also good for your heart: Arteries stiffen during resistance training, increasing blood pressure, but a cardio chaser such as a 20-minute run counteracts these effects and expedites your arteries’ return to normal, explains Rohit Arora, MD, chairman of cardiology at the Chicago Medical School. Plus, strength training “takes coordination and good technique, so you get more out of it if you come to it fresh,” says Kent Adams, PhD, director of the Exercise Physiology Lab at California State University, Monterey Bay. “Meanwhile, cardio is a rhythmic, low-skill activity that’s the easier of the two to do in a fatigued state,” Adams says.

I have read several articles that have stated the above after other studies around the country and I in fact started doing this in my “gym” routine about a year ago and found that it worked great for me!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

