Mama Mia

My Tuesday, 11/17/09 started like any other and was quite busy but not overwhelming, for a change! 

I had a bowl of MultiGrain Cheerios with 2 % milk, 1/2 a diced banana and a glass of orange juice for breakfast.

Breakfast

At lunch I found myself craving a Veggie Pizza so that is what I got and man was it GOOD, check out how loaded it was with black olives, broccoli, tomatoes, mushrooms, onions, peppers and spinach.

Lunch

Dinner just happened to be “Italian” as well, not that I planned it that way.  I had whole-wheat pasta with Newman’s Marina that had some lean-ground beef mixed in with it and a side salad with italian dressing.

Dinner

Dinner2

I did it the Gym after work, which sort of felt strange as it had been a whole week since I had been there.  Once I was through the doors I did the following:

  • 15 minutes of abs (crunches, leg lifts, sides & Boise ball sit-ups)
  • 25 minutes of upper body weight machines (arms, back & chest)
  • 30 minutes of cardio (stair machine)

After dinner I watched a the Food Network’s Challenge “Thanksgiving Family Feast” show that I had on DVR from Sunday night, in which Four families face off in the Challenge kitchens to prove that their Thanksgiving traditions trump all.  They had six hours to tell their Thanksgiving story in food and wow the judges.  The winning family took home $10,000!  Tune in to watch it tonight at 8:00 PM ET/PT.  It was a great show with lots of different versions of the “Thanksgiving” meal!

__________________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

Last night while doing my cardio at the gym I read an article from the Nov/Dec 2009 Fitness Magazine called “Burn More Fat in No Time” by Caroline Hwang that I found had tons of great information and tips so I wanted to share it with everyone! 

Over the next “8 days” I will be posting one of the 8 Rules listed in the article, which will end right before one of the biggest eating days in America (a.k.a. Thanksgiving).

Rule #1: Be an early bird to get the workout.

Lace up first thing and you’ll increase your odds of exercising today threefold. A study of 500 people at the Mollen Clinic, a preventive medicine and wellness center in Scottsdale, Arizona, found that 75 percent of those who worked out in the morning did so regularly, compared with just half the afternoon exercisers and a quarter of the post-work crowd. “At the beginning of the day, you have the fewest excuses for skipping exercise,” says clinic founder Arthur Mollen, DO. Not waking up early enough, of course, is the main one. “Limit using the snooze button to only five minutes so that you don’t fall into a deep sleep again,” Dr. Mollen advises. Bonus! You’ll go to work feeling focused: A recent study at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign found that 20 minutes of moderate aerobic exercise improved concentration, reading comprehension, and cognitive function.

When I first started out on my “Weight Loss Journey” several years ago I used to work out in the early morning.  I would get up at 5am and head to the gym for 30-60 minutes (running or doing weights) before going to work.  It was difficult at first to get used to it but after a few months it became part of my routine and I really enjoyed the quite of the early morning, getting my work out done and over with early and also the extra energy I gained from it that helped me through the day!

  1. November 19, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    I get lazy towards the end of the day…my reason for morning workouts. Plus an ealry workout gives me extra energy during the work day.

    • November 19, 2009 at 3:23 pm

      I totally agree. I run after work now, but only because it isn’t light enough out in the morning for me to run and I just do not feel safe running in the dark by myself. In the past I ran inside at the gym so it was no biggie. Luckily, I have adjusted to working out/running after work & on Saturday morning now so my body is used to it but it can be a pain sometimes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

