Blow Me Away…

……..well almost on this cool & quite windy at times weekend!!!

My weekend was rather busy from front to back…..filled with amazing weather, time spent with family & friends, chores and some quality time with my husband & daughter!  =)

Here is how my Saturday, 11/7/09 went:

  • Woke up around 8am to a knock at the door from my daughter who was on the phone with my mom who wanted to see if we (my daughter & I) would like to come over for coffee & breakfast.
  • Got cleaned up quickly and headed to my mom’s house for breakfast on the patio outside so we could enjoy the beautiful day!  =)  Sorry I TOTALLY forgot to take pictures……….we had homemade pumpkin cranberry & nut cookies, with scrambled eggs & coffee!
  • Later in the a.m. we all ventured out to a “Fall Bazar” at a friends church where we enjoyed live entertainment, homemade foods (chili, baked goods, breads, jams, hamburger & hot dogs), crafts and the kids got play in a bounce house or take hay rides.  All the food looked amazing, but I was still very full from breakfast so I just bought a Mini Pumpkin Bread Loaf to enjoy later.
Pumpkin Loaf

Mini Pumpkin Bread Loaf

  • I got back home just after 12pm after enjoying my morning visiting my mom & friends and headed straight out for my scheduled 10K Training Program….50 minute “endurance” run!
  • Despite the fact that it was the middle of the day, which is typically the hottest part of the day, my run was very cool & rather breezy at times.  I ran at a good faster pace the 1st half but slowed on the last half, though I was able to gain some speed at the end and I only took 1 minute+ walk break.
  • 60+ minutes later I was back home after completing 5 miles in all!
  • After showering I attached a big slice of watermelon from 1/2 a huge melon that my mom gave me that she purchased during a recent road trip to several small coastal towns in Florida.
Saturday 11.7.09 - Watermelon

Watermelon

  • I really did not eat lunch, unless you count the watermelon as lunch, as I just wasn’t very hungry and I ended up paying for this later in the day since I did not properly refuel myself after my long run or hydrate myself prior to my run either for that matter!!!  I ended up getting a headache that lasted until Sunday morning because of these mistakes!   LESSONS LEARNED – Dont’ Forget To Properly Hydrate Yourself Prior To Your Run & Refuel Yourself After A Long Run!!!
  • I ran a few errands in the late afternoon, which including picking up movies and stuff for dinner.  Than I did a few things around the house before the little/big one said she was hungry and the husband chimed in that he was as well around 6pm.
  • Dinner was spaghetti for my daughter & homemade pizza for the husband & I.  I was totally jones for it too and needed the extra carbs after my afternoon run so I had to control myself to not eat it all in one bite……..my side of the pizza had mushrooms, onions, green & red pepper and a few slices of sweet sausage with some pepperoni and cheese on top.
Saturday 11.7.09 - Dinner

Dinner

  • We watched our movie, G.I. Joe, after dinner and 1/2 way through stopped and had some ice cream for desert.
Sunday 10.25.09 - Small Bowl Icecream

Desert

  • I am HAPPY to say that I still have about 1 cup left on the bottom of my Publix Premium Peppermint Ice Cream carton that I bought “3 weeks” ago so I know I will be successful in stretching the entire carton 4 weeks  like I wanted too when I bought it!  =)  I have only eaten it on the weekends (Friday – Sunday) and I will admit there were several times I ate directly from the carton and did not take a picture of it, however I only took a few bites each time I did this so I didn’t make too much damage……..

_______________________________________________________________________________________

On to Sunday, 11/8/09:

  • I woke up a bit before 8am as we went to bed rather early the night before and I walked the dog, then made a quick breakfast that included a few slices of the Pumpkin Bread I bought yesterday, with melon & orange juice for myself as my daughter made her own as she couldn’t wait until I got back from walking the dog. 
Sunday 11.8.09 - Breakfast

Breakfast

  • After finishing breakfast my daughter and me went to do a little shopping at Target and then grocery shopping at Publix.  We got home just before noon and in time for lunch, which was a small bbq chicken salad for myself.
Sunday 11.8.09 - Lunch2

Lunch

  • Me & my daughter “attempted” to make some little cakes with fondant frosting and decorations after lunch with her newly purchased Girl Gourmet that she got at Target this morning with her birthday money, however the 1st cake got stuck in the holder and I only got 1/2 of it out and the 2nd cake was slighty over nuked and I couldn’t get the fondant to work as it was too wet so we ended up frosting it with some white icing I had in the pantry as my daughter purchased this just so she could make her teacher a cake, isn’t that so sweet!?!

girl gourmet

  • After cleaning up I decided to try my hand at making Butternut Squash Soup from scratch using this recipe http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1924685  from the October 2009 issue of “Cooking Light”.  It looked and felt like what I was wanting, however the TASTE was just not there so I added a few seasonings (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and ground cloves) that I thought would add some flavor but they only really seemed to have given it a strange after taste.  So than I added in some brown sugar thinking it needed to be sweeter (as the kind I tried last week at a restaurant was), and it helped a bit but the strange after taste was still there and now the color was a yucky brownish color, unlike the beautiful “yellow” in the below picture.  I still have the soup in my fridge but think I am going to throw it out and try again next week with a recipe I found at http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Butternut-Squash-Soup-II/Detail.aspx.
Sunday 11.8.09 - Butternut Squash Soup

Butternut Squash Soup (Prep)

Sunday 11.8.09 - Butternut Squash Soup2

Butternut Squash Soup (All Done & Simmering)

  • Around 4pm me and my daughter headed to my mother-in-laws house for dinner that she was preparing for us.  We try to visit her at least once or twice a month, on the weekends and really enjoy the time we get with her.
  • Dinner was one of her specialities…..roast beef with gravy, roasted pototoes, carrots, asparugs, green beens and biscuits, YUMMY!
Sunday 11.8.09 - Dinner

Dinner

  • Than about 30 minutes after dinner I had a piece of the homemade apple pie and some tea for desert.  My mother-in-law thought the pie wasn’t sweet enough, but I thought it was perfect!
Sunday 11.8.09 - Desert

Desert

Sunday 11.8.09 - Tea

Tea

  • We headed home just a bit after 7pm and brought my husband a plate from his mom!
  • Some t.v. time, a dog walk and bed followed.

______________________________________________________________________________________

WEEKEND “LESSONS LEARNED” TIPS!!!

  • Start your recovery early after a long run!  Refueling after a long run is essential to help your body recover quickly. Eat or drink about 200 or 300 calories of carbohydrates and some protein within an hour of finishing your run. The carbs refuel your muscles with glycogen, and the protein will help repair your muscles. Eat a full meal as soon as you are able to continue the recovery process. And remember to slowly drink fluids to rehydrate after you cross the finish line.
  • Signs of Dehydration.  You lose water through urination, respiration, and by sweating. If you are very active, you lose more water than if you are sedentary. Diuretics such as caffeine pills and alcohol result in the need to drink more water because they trick your body into thinking you have more water than we need. Symptoms of mild dehydration include chronic pains in joints and muscles,lower back pain, headaches and constipation. A strong odor to your urine, along with a yellow or amber color indicates that you may not be getting enough water. Note that riboflavin, a B Vitamin, will make your urine bright yellow. Thirst is an obvious sign of dehydration and in fact, you need water long before you feel thirsty.
  1. November 9, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Looks liek a great weekend filled with good eats. I bought some ice cream and so far going on week two and trying to make it last! lol

  2. November 10, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Yay for making ice cream stretch. That’s hard to do!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

