No Cavities!

My daughter had a Dentist Visit on this lovely Wednesday, 11/4/09 morning and I am happy to report that she has NO CAVITIES!!!  =)

In light of the visit I got into work late and started to get “hungry” on the way in so I decided to stop and pick up my breakfast this morning so I could eat in the car and get right to work once I got in as I still have a lot of catching up to do, unfortunately!

So my on the road breakfast was a sugar-free vanilla Iced Coffee and bacon, egg & cheese McMuffin from McDonald’s of course! 

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Iced Coffee

Iced Coffee

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Breakfast

McMuffin

I took a picture of the Nutrition Facts (see below) that are printed on the wrap my McMuffin came in so you can see that it is not that “bad” for you despite what you might think…..of course to be healthier you should opt for NO bacon, however I love it and rarely have it so I got some.

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Breakfast (Nutrition Facts)

Nutrition Facts

Only 300 Calories, 12 grams of fat, 30 grams of carbs, 2 grams of Fiber and 18 grams of protein! 

You of course would not want to eat one of these everyday, however as a occasional on the go breakfast it is not too bad and I have to tell you I didn’t get hungry after eating this until about 4 hours later so it is great at keeping you FULL!

 Once I did start to get hungry around 2pm I decided to have lite lunch of tuna with mayo and 1/2 a diced up apple mixed in, with a few whole-wheat pita chips and baby carrots on the side.

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Lunch

Lunch

I used to eat the above, minus the pita chips, for lunch quite often when I was trying to lose 100 pounds as it was low in carbs, high in protein and had a few veggies/fruits in mixed in.  The protein in the tuna keeps you full for a long time too.

Just before it was time to leave for the day I snacked on a Fiber One fat-free strawberry yogurt.

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Late Afternoon Snack

Late Afternoon Snack

I was due to hit the gym after work, however my mom who usually picks up my daughter in on vacation this week so I am missing the gym tonight! 

I am finding this time of year is making it very difficult to hit the gym & run as often as I would like, however unlike the past I am not going to let it get to me and just go with it………NO MORE GUILTY FEELINGS!

Once at home I took a quick shower and then started on dinner, which is taco’s & yellow rice on the side.

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Dinner

Dinner

I found these Ortega Yellow Corn Taco Shells recently and really like them, as you can see from the below Nutrition Facts there is only 16 grams of carbs and 2 grams fiber per serving, which is “2” taco shells.  I can tell you from experience that this is very good for a taco shell.  They are also very good!

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Taco Shell Box

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Taco Shell Box (side)

After dinner my daughter broke out her Halloween Candy and we all had a few pieces, check out my choices below, they are childhood favorites of mine!  =)

Wednesday 11.4.09 - Candy

After dinner & treats we hit the couch for some t.v. time until bed time!

_____________________________________________________________________________________

I am sure you can tell from the two (2) pictures I have above showing Nutrition Facts that I am pretty big on reading them!  I feel it is a very important to do as you because you should always be aware of what you are putting in your mouth! 

It is also crucial if you are trying to lose weight or be healthier!

I think everyone should take time to learn how to read Nutrition Facts labels and also read them while you are doing your grocery shopping.

So in light of that my TIP OF THE DAY will be on How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Fact Labels as advised by the FDA, which you can find by clicking the below link:

How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label

  1. Lu
    November 6, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Tacos & Mexican Rice! Yum. I’m so having Mexican for lunch now. Congrats to your daughter. No cavities is great!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

