Forgetful, Thursday

Just another “forgetful” day here on this Thursday, 10/22/09 for me…….I am always forgetting something, just ask my husband!!!  =O

The forgetful part did not occur until later in my day so I will go into it in more detail later in my post…….in the mean time here our my eats:

  • Breakfast
    • Instant high-fiber maple brown sugar oatmeal with ½ a diced up apple & a dash of cinnamon added.
Breakfast

Breakfast

  • Lunch 
    • Re-heated left over beef stew from Sunday.
Lunch

Lunch

  • Late Afternoon Coffee 
    • Tall Starbuck’s Pumpkin Spice Latte.
Late Afternoon Coffee

Late Afternoon Coffee

  • Dinner 
    • Multi-grain pasta under lean ground hamburger meat and Newman’s Marina Sauce and a small side salad with Italian dressing on top.
Dinner1

Dinner1

Dinner2

Dinner2

After I left work I swung by the grocery store to pick up a jar of Newman’s Own Marina Sauce (see below), which my family LOVES, than I picked up my daughter and rushed home so I could get a start on my evening….. 

Newman’s Own Marinara Sauce

marina2 


   
All Natural Ingredients:

Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste, Citric Acid), Diced Tomatoes, Sugar, Soybean Oil, Salt, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Spices, Onion*, Garlic* *Dried

Nutrition Facts:

Serving Size 1/2 cup (125g)
Servings about 6
Calories 70
Fat Cal. 20

*Percent Daily Values (DV) are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
Amount/Serving % DV*
Total Fat 2g ___________3%
Sat. Fat 0g ___________0%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholest. 0mg ___________0%
Sodium 510mg ___________21%
Total Carb. 12g ___________4%
Dietary Fiber less than 1g ___________3%
Sugars 11g
Protein 2g
Vitamin A 30%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 4%
Iron 10%


Now this is where my FORGETFUL part came in as after I got home I realized that I was out of angel hair pasta that both my husband & daughter love so I immediately thought of asking my mother-in-law who lives down the road for some but realized I just asked her from some biscuits on Sunday and decided to nicks that idea.  And, it came to me, I sometimes run by the store when I am out on my nightly run’s so why not just swing by while I am out and pick up some pasta………aren’t I brilliant, j/k!!!

So, I quickly cooked up the lean hamburger meat I had with some chopped onions added and then let it simmer on the stove in the Newman’s Own Marina Sauce and headed out for my 35+ Minute “Easy Pace” 3 Mile Run and on my way home I ran (well walked actually) into the store, grabbed a box of pasta, quickly checked out and then walked home doing a few “fast sprints” along the way!

Once dinner was done I showered of course, then got my daughter in bed and headed down stairs to do some blog surfing on the computer while my husband watched his Wrestling.  We hit the hay just after 11pm as I was BEAT, been a long week………..

TIP OF THE DAY!!!

thumb

Forgetfulness

Hmmmm, now what were we going to discuss next? Oh, yeah, how to cure those blasted bouts of forgetfulness. You know, when a name or date is on the tip of your tongue … or you can’t seem to remember where you parked your car … or left your keys.

Frustrating as it is, a memory slip doesn’t mean you’re edging toward Alzheimer’s disease. (Alzheimer’s is marked by things such as not knowing the year or forgetting the names of immediate family members.) Everyone has occasional episodes of forgetfulness, so even if you’ve forgotten the last time it happened to you, here’s how to build a better memory.

Get in shape. Scientific research confirms that a healthy body indeed helps breed a healthy mind–memory-wise, at least. Several studies show that people over age 40 who exercise aerobically at least three times a week have 20 percent better memory skills than people who don’t exercise. So if you’re not a regular exerciser, change those sedentary ways.

“Regular exercise improves blood flow to the brain,” explains Richard Gordin, Ph.D., professor of physical education at Utah State University in Logan. “And improved blood flow often means improved thinking and memory.”

Tune in talk shows. “The most troublesome tasks for everyone are remembering names and faces and remembering dates and appointments. I recommend you watch TV shows that will help improve those skills,” says Douglas Herrmann, Ph.D., a research scientist at the National Center for Health Statistics in Hyattsville, Maryland, and author of Super Memory. “Since meeting new people challenges memory, watch talk and game shows, and try to recall each guest’s name as the show goes on. A show like ‘Wheel of Fortune’ is good for improving your vocabulary and recalling word definitions.”

Write it down. Putting information in writing also puts it into your memory, says Dr. Herrmann. So try writing down important information in order to remember it more easily later on. Many memory experts suggest you “make lists.”

Think in rhymes. Want to know it? Become a poet. “Make a rhyme for uninteresting things or hard-to-recall facts, or when the information is complicated or highly detailed,” says Dr. Herrmann. “Rhymes give us a structure that helps us remember things.”

Remember your beta-carotene. Consuming at least one serving daily of foods rich in beta-carotene can improve some aspects of your memory and word fluency or recall, particularly if you’re over age 60, according to James G. Penland, Ph.D., research psychologist at the U.S. Department of Agriculture Human Nutrition Research Center in Grand Forks, North Dakota. Dark green vegetables and orange fruits and vegetables are abundant in beta-carotene.

Observe rather than see. Seeing something allows for a momentary experience, which may or may not give you the opportunity to soak up details. But observing means paying attention to detail. For instance, you’ve seen a $20 bill countless times, but can you remember who’s pictured on the front of it? Unless you know it’s Andrew Jackson, you’re not an observer.

“By noticing special properties or features of commonplace items, you will have a better chance to commit them to memory,” says psychologist Robin West, Ph.D., of the University of Florida in Gainesville, author of Memory Fitness over Forty.

Play mental games. Playing cards or board games like Scrabble is a good way to practice improving your memory, advises Forrest R. Scogin, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa. “But choose the games you like, because it can be very frustrating for someone having memory problems to say ‘If I just start playing Scrabble, my memory will improve.’ ” The process is like building up your strength with exercise. Don’t expect too much too soon.

  1. October 23, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    I seem to have a forgetful “everyday” . . . it’s probably because I’m running around at an insane pace, I wonder if that contributes to my clumsiness as well?!?!

    • October 23, 2009 at 5:08 pm

      I totally know how you feel, I forget things all the time too……..just hate it when I went to the grocery store and then realize after I get home a few minutes later I forgot something else I needed there, UGH! =O Wish you on the clumsiness too…….

  2. October 24, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Newman’s has some great stuff. 🙂

    And my memory is usually pretty good. I try to write sutff down when I need to remember it. My only trouble is usually with names.

    I totally try to read a lot and keep my mind active. I am so fearful of having my mind go on me as I get older.

    • October 25, 2009 at 8:33 pm

      Yeah, there were a lot of great “memory” tips in that article. I use my calendar online & my cell phone a lot to remember things, even what item I need to pick up after work at the grocery store.

  3. Jenny
    October 24, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    I was wondering if you have a sweet tooth? Mine kills me!! IT is my downfall to healthy eating and maintaining a healthy diet! Any tips?
    Thanks!!

    • October 25, 2009 at 8:32 pm

      Oh, yes I have a “sweet tooth”, however it may not be as bad as some women’s as I do not need chocolate everyday or anything. Funny, you bring it up though as on Friday I bought two (2) 1/2 gallons of Publix Premium Icecream, one for me & the other for my hubby, of course we are not going to eat it all at once but we like to indulge a bit over the weekends. As far as sweets my best tip is always to enjoy them in “moderation”, however over the next week I will look for some more to post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

