Octoberfest & Rest!!!

Saturday, 10/10/09 started out early for me as usual, since I always wake up around 7am on the weekends as well as week days!  I used to be able to sleep in, however these days I am always so busy that my mind starts going and I can’t do it anymore. 

Today’s schedule consisted of the following:

  • 50 Min. “Endurance” Run
  • Shower
  • Breakfast
  • Grocery Store
  • Start Laundry (finish the rest on Sunday)
  • Shopping (GameStop & Target)
  • OCTOBERFEST PARTY!!!

So as you can see I had a busy day ahead of me…….that ended in FUN at my parents annual OCTOBERFEST PARTY that they throw every year!  =)

I started my morning with a pre-run breakfast of water with 1/2 a Cliff Bar.

Pre-Run Breakfast

Pre-Run Breakfast

Here is another wonderful (j/k) picture of me after a LONG HOT run……

Me After My Run!

Me After My Run!

As you can see from the above I was in GREAT need of a shower, so I took a long cold shower and then had breakfast #2, which consisted of a toasted whole-grain waffle with peanut butter on top and then a frozen mixed berry, milk & ice smoothie.

Breakfast #2 (1)

Breakfast #2 (1)

Breakfast #2 (2)

Breakfast #2 (2)

I then headed to the grocery store, home to unload everything (snacked on a pear while doing so), then headed back out to a few stores and then back home to get clean & dressed up for the party tonight. 

Snack

Snack

As you can see I MISSED lunch today, this happened for 2 reasons:

  1. I was so busy running around I just did not have time.
  2. Saving room for the party tonight, though I do not recommend doing that on a “regular” basis, I just do sometimes before big events that I know HEAVY eating may be involved.

OCTOBERFEST PARTY…………pickings!!!

Party Pickings #1

Party Pickings #1

Party Pickings #2

Party Pickings #2

Party Pickings #3

Party Pickings #3

As you can see from all the pickings there was a LOT of food around to eat and believe you me I tried a bit of almost everything……..brats, pulled pork, homemade bread & jelly, german potato salad, chips & dip, cookies & cake……it was all so good!!!  =) 

By the end of the night I was officially STUFFED, especially after downing a large glass of my step-dad’s home brewed Octoberfest beer (sorry forgot to take a picture).

We did not get home almost 11pm and watched a little t.v. before falling asleep on the couch and some how making our way up to bed.

TIP OF THE DAY!

Oktoberfest

Oktoberfest is a 16-day festival held each year in Munich, Germany, running from late September to early October. It is one of the most famous events in Germany and the world’s largest fair, with some six million people attending every year, and is an important part of Bavarian culture. Other cities across the world also hold Oktoberfest celebrations, modeled after the Munich event.

The Munich Oktoberfest, traditionally, takes place during the sixteen days up to and including the first Sunday in October. In 1994, the schedule was modified in response to German reunification so that if the first Sunday in October falls on the 1st or 2nd, then the festival will go on until October 3 (German Unity Day). Thus, the festival is now 17 days when the 1st Sunday is October 2 and 18 days when it is October 1. The festival is held on an area named the Theresienwiese (field, or meadow, of Therese), often called d’ Wiesn for short.

Visitors also eat huge amounts of traditional hearty fare such as Hendl (chicken), Schweinsbraten (roast pork), Haxn (knuckle of pork), Steckerlfisch (grilled fish on a stick), Würstl (sausages) along with Brezn (Pretzel), Knödeln (potato or bread dumplings), Kaasspotzn (cheese noodles), Reiberdatschi (potato pancakes), Sauerkraut or Rotkraut (red cabbage) along with such Bavarian delicacies as Obatzda (a fatty, spiced cheese-butter concoction) and Weisswurst (a white sausage).

_______________________________________________________________________________________

On to Sunday, 10/11/09 “rest” day as I am going to call it!  Not so much as that I got rest but more so that I needed it……..=O

The day started a little later than usual as we did not wake up until after 8am on this morning.  We were all pretty tired out from the night of drinking, fun & food!

The day consisted of the following:

  • Laundry
  • Walk the dog
  • Make breakfast, which was toasted oat bread with jelly, scrambled eggs, 1/2 a banana & some oj (sorry I lost the picture)
  • Make some homemade granola.
Homemade Granola Bars

Homemade Granola Bars

 

Homemade Granola Bars (Close Up)

Homemade Granola Bars (Close Up)

  • Hit a few blogs online.
  • Run out to pick up some last minute things for my mom as today is her Birthday.
  • Stop by to see mom.
My Mom!!!

My Mom!!!

  • Birthday party at 3pm (one of my daughter’s friends)
  • Put dinner in the oven prior to leaving to pick ing up my daughter so when we get home it should be almost done.  Dinner was something we haven’t had in a while and I thought it might be a nice change…….bbq chicken wings, with fries (for the hubby) and a side salad with a few croutons, a little cheese and some ranch dressing.
Dinner1

Dinner1

Dinner2

Dinner2

The rest of the night is blurry to me now, but I do know we all hit the hay early…………

TIP OF THE DAY!!!

REST definition

noun

    1. peace, ease, and refreshment as produced by sleep
    2. sleep or repose, or a period of this
  1. refreshing ease or inactivity after work or exertion
  2. a period or occasion of inactivity, as during work or on a journey
    1. relief from anything distressing, annoying, tiring, etc.
    2. peace of mind; mental and emotional calm; tranquillity
  3. the repose of death
  4. absence of motion; state of being still; immobility
  5. a resting or stopping place; shelter or lodging place, as for travelers, sailors, etc.
  6. a thing or device for supporting something; support: often used in combination a footrest
  7. Music
    1. a measured interval of silence between tones
    2. any of various symbols indicating the length of such an interval
  8. Prosody a short pause in a line of verse; caesura
  1. October 13, 2009 at 1:02 am

    woah that smoothie is so colorful!! I bet it was delicious 🙂
    i love that half a clif bar is perfect fuel for a long run!

    • October 13, 2009 at 1:11 am

      Yeah, it was quite good though I should of used more ice to make it just perfect, however my little blender does not really like ice too much so I can always use a little. Yeah, I saw Clif Bars and a fellow health blogger webpage and purchased them for the 1st time before a 5K I ran a few weeks back and found at the race they worked great and have been using them ever since for my long runs.

  2. October 13, 2009 at 1:45 am

    well written thanks for the info !

  3. October 13, 2009 at 5:07 am

    Wow, your step-dad brews his own beer! Sounds like fun times.

    • October 13, 2009 at 2:59 pm

      Yeah, he has been brewing since I was in highschool and he is quite good at it now. I love his Octoberfest beer every year.

  4. October 14, 2009 at 1:37 am

    its a very healthy breakfast always stay healthy and fit

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

