Home > Family, Fiber, Healthy Eats, Tips, Work > THIH, Again!

THIH, Again!

At last it is Thursday, 10/8/09………and I have tomorrow OFF!  =)

Yes, I have taken another Friday OFF, as October is always a “very” busy personal wise for me.  It is full of anniversaries, birthdays, celebrations, holidays & such.  See the line up below:

  • My Daughter’s 9th Birthday – 10/9/09
  • October Fest (Parent’s House) – 10/10/09
  • My Mom’s Birthday – 10/11/09
  • My Step-Dad’s Birthday – 10/16/09
  • My 3rd Wedding Anniversary – 10/20/09
  • My Step-Son’s 14th Birthday – 10/28/09
  • Halloween – 10/31/09

So as you can see I need a little extra time OFF in order to prepare for all the above ahead of me this month!  =O

Let’s check out my eats for the day…..

Early Breakfast:   1/2 a glass of orange juice & some melon

Early Breakfast

Early Breakfast

Breakfast:   high-fiber instant maple brown sugar oatmeal with cut up apple pieces and a dash of cinnamon

Breakfast

Breakfast

Lunch:  peanut butter sandwich on oat bread with a side of frozen veggies

 

Lunch

Lunch

My frozen veggies for the day where the following:

Immunity Blend

Immunity Blend (back)

Late Afternoon Snack:  Activia vanilla light fat-free yogurt with Kashi Apple Orchard yogurt mixed in.

Late Afternoon Snack

Late Afternoon Snack

Dinner:  a scoop of red-pepper humus and some whole-wheat pita chips and a side salad with italian dressing (again, repeat of Tuesday’s dinner)

Dinner

Dinner

Dinner2

Dinner2

PRIOR to dinner, I hit the gym for my “weekly” dose of the following:

  • 20 mins. of Abs (leg lifts, side to sides, plank & crunches)
  • 20 mins. of Lower Body (squats, lunges, dead lifts & inner/outer thigh machines)
  • 35 mins. of Cross Training (Elliptical Machine)

The rest of the night FLEW by as usual as my Thursday’s are always very late nights for me, since I typically do not get home until after 8pm at night I am always in a mad rush to get things done so I can have a little time on the couch with the hubby & t.v. (of course) before bed time! 

TIP OF THE DAY!

I have always focused a lot on “high-fiber” items throughout my weight loss and NOW, so I would dedicate today’s Tip Of The Day to “Fiber”!

I found this very interesting and useful information on a fellow health bloggers (http://slowthingsdown.wordpress.com/) most recent post and thought I would share it with you guys.

Fiber

How do I get more fiber in my diet?

Remember that there is a whole variety of food sources to get fiber from, and the best way to get it is through actual food.  Supplements or foods with added fiber may offer some slight benefits, but they don’t offer you the “whole package” that whole foods have to offer you (vitamins, minerals, polyphenols–that’s another topic altogether! )  Here are some of the best sources to provide you with both insoluble and soluble fiber.

Insoluble Fiber Sources—good for constipation/irregularity:

  • almonds
  • celery
  • whole wheat flour
  • wheat bran
  • many other “fibrous” vegetables

Soluble Fiber Sources—helpful in stabilizing blood sugar levels and reducing cholesterol

  • oatmeal
  • beans (such as chili… )
  • barley
  • apples

Just a note…remember to increase fiber intake slowly and include lots of water too to prevent any uncomfort!  =O  You don’t want to eat three big bowls of chili if you don’t normally eat that much fiber in your diet.

Categories: Family, Fiber, Healthy Eats, Tips, Work
  1. October 9, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    yay for fiber! Thanks for clarifying the two types, I wasn’t clear on that. I also like fiber because it helps keep me full longer.

    • October 10, 2009 at 3:31 pm

      Yeah, I wasn’t sure either until I read that as well. =)

  2. Denisines
    October 10, 2009 at 2:53 am

    Those frozen veggies look good, but ‘Immunity Blend’?! Marketing at it’s best, eh? ; )

    • October 10, 2009 at 3:31 pm

      Yeah, I totally agree. They are pretty good for frozen veggies and always a quick fix.

  3. October 11, 2009 at 3:49 am

    Gotta love the Fiber.

  4. KNB
    October 12, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    That little girl is the cutest! Happy Birthday!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

