Home > Family, Healthy Eats, Running, Tips, Weight Loss, Work > Weigh In, Wednesday!

Weigh In, Wednesday!

I decided to name the title of this post on this Wednesday, 9/7/09…. “Weigh In, Wednesday” as I plan to start doing just that! 

Even though I reached my weight loss goal of 100 pounds lost in August 2009, I still have a few more pounds I would like to lose…..around 20+ pounds! 

I will be going into more detail on this “additional weight loss” goal of mine with my next post (PART 2) from my One Month Anniversary celebration named “Finding A Healthy Balance”, however I wanted to mention it here as I will be adding a page called Weigh In to my blog today in which I will post my weight on a weekly basis. 

Ok, onto my day………

I started my day with a breakfast of high-fiber instant maple brown sugar oatmeal with cut up apple pieces and a dash of cinnamon mixed in.

Breakfast

Breakfast

I missed my late morning snack today so I had an early lunch just after noon of 1/3 of a tuna sandwich on high-fiber whole wheat bread with left over frozen veggies from yesterday and a yummy very sweet pear.

Lunch

Lunch

My late afternoon snack, came pretty late again, right before quitting time again.  I had my Activia Vanilla Light Fat-Free yogurt with Kashi’s Apple Orchard granola mixed in. 

Late Afternoon Snack

Late Afternoon Snack

My scheduled called for a 45 minute “easy pace” run tonight so I headed straight from work to pick up my daughter and then home right after so I could get a start on it as I typically do not run for SO LONG on week nights, as I have so much to get done everynight, however my “10K Training Program” called for it so it must be done.

10K (Week 1)

After I got home I quickly headed up stairs and changed into my running attire, then headed down stairs and got dinner in the oven so it could cook while I ran and then I was out the door………..

I will admit I was sort of “dreading” this run as I haven’t done that long of one in a while outside so I was worried if I could do it or not.  Luckily, I made it and actually ran a little extra………as when I got home I was surprised to see that I had been gone for 50 minutes, so if you account for a little walking I succeeded at running “45 minutes” in all!  =)  And, it actually did not feel so bad.  Of course I did go at a VERY easy (slow) pace mind you. 

Once at  home I finished whipping dinner up, as it was getting late and we were all hungry.  I had made my “Wednesday Night Special” marinated pork loin with broccoli, cabbage & 1/2 a baked potato.  As mentioned last week I am not a HUGE pork fan (except for bacon & ribs that is), however I added some ketchup on top of my pork this time and I rather enjoyed it this time. 

Dinner

Dinner

A nice shower followed dinner for myself and my daughter, then “good nights” for my daughter and t.v. time for me & the hubby, which of course was The Ultimate Fighter – Heavy Weights that is on every Wednesday night at 10pm (Eastern Time). 

OK…….I know this might be a controversial show and not everyone agrees with UFC fighting or likes the show, however I watch it with my husband who loves it.  We started watching it together when we first met and over the years both the show & sport have grown on me.  To me it is a “sport”, in which the fighters are very passionate and extremely hard workers, that I admire.  You will find that I am a VERY OPEN MINDED person and do not judge others or their beliefs, desires or life style……….I find this came from my up bringing where I was exposed to several different cultures and people, plus my parents are also very open minded individuals!

Bed time came a bit late as we ended up watching Challenge that had been recorded on Sunday after the show so we did not hit the hay until after 12pm……=O

TIP OF THE DAY!!!

Weight Watchers Scale

When is the best time to weigh yourself?

Consistency Is Key

It’s important to make sure that you weigh yourself at roughly the same time and place everyday. I do it right after I wake up, in my bathroom. You can do this whenever and where ever you like at home, work or the gym. I’ve found that early in the morning is when I am at my lightest though.

If my weight is a little higher than the previous day, I know I’ve got some work to do. Either tighten up the diet or increase the intensity or length of the workout that day. By weighing myself daily I can make the adjustments sooner in order to keep me on the right track.

Keeping Track

I keep track of my weight with a Weight Watchers scale in which I was able to record my starting weight and then my goal weight.  Every morning when I weigh myself it tells me my weight, how many pounds I have lost in “all” and then how many pounds I have to go until I reach my goal weight!

And, as stated above I plan to start tracking my weight weekly on my blog now as well under a new page named Weigh In,as I truly believe that seeing your progress is “key” to successful weight loss and helps motivate you.  I use a weight gain OR a loss as “motivation” to do better!  =)

  1. October 8, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    My husband and I LOVE the UFC as well 🙂 I haven’t been watching the show too much just bits and pieces, but we do watch all the pay per views. It is nice to find another blogger who enjoys the sport!

    • October 8, 2009 at 4:41 pm

      Oh, that is really cool! I thought I might be the only one as most of my “girl” friends do not get why I like it as they think it is too brutal and such. I tell them it is a “sport” and just like any sport there is pain and injury involved. And, that there is MUCH more to it then that. =)

  2. solomomo
    October 8, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    I think this is really brave of you to post your weight, I don’t know if I could! You’ve done such a great job losing! You look fantastic!

    • October 8, 2009 at 6:58 pm

      Girl, after being almost 250 pounds, saying I am currently 142 is not scary in the least bit believe me!!! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

