Home > Family & Friends, Special Events > Wonderful Weekend Wrap-Up!

Wonderful Weekend Wrap-Up!

My long weekend (Friday, 10/2/09 – Sunday, 10/4/09) was wonderful and I am going to wrap it all up for you the best I can!  =)

Friday, 10/2/09, my day went something like this………

  • Woke up around 7am+ and got my daughter up so she could get ready for school. 
  • Then head to the bus stop before it leaves grabbing my her a chocolate donut from 7-Eleven on the way (as a Friday treat) and get myself a Pumpkin Spiced Latte as well (my Friday treat).
  • Watch my daughter get on the bus and then head to Publix to get dog food (completely out) for “Peanut”.
  • Stop at Einstein Bagel on the way home and get a Pumpkin Bagel w/Pumpkin Cream Cheese for Breakfast.
Breakfast (YUMMY!)

Breakfast (YUMMY!)

  • Once at home I scarfed down my “yummy” bagel, leaving about 1/3 0f it as I was pretty full after drinking the coffee and then I hit the shower.
  • All clean, hair dry/straightened, my make-up applied and then waited for my husband to finish getting ready (he always takes longer than me).
  • Then I drove him to his appointment at 10am to take his STATE BOARD EXAM today in “Cosemotology”……..man was he a nervous & me too, though I knew he would do great
  • After dropping him off I head straight for “Wal-Mart” so I could get started on the busy shopping day I had ahead as I needed to get all the supplies for my daughter’s birthday party on Saturday as well as groceries, I snacked on some grapes while doing my shopping.
Snack

Snack

  •  2+ hours later I was finished at Wal-Mart & also Publix and at home putting everything away when my husband called!  YIKES, was I nervous to answer the phone!!!  Luckily, he had great news…….HE PASSED and my heart jumped for joy!
  • I quickly finished putting all my cold items away and ran to pick him up, we were both starving by the time we got home so I stopped and got us our favorite for lunch……….”Five Guys”!  =)  I had a little cheese burger with lettuce, tomato, pickle & ketchup….plus a few of their amazing fries.
Lunch

Lunch

  • After stuffing ourselves we proceeded to VEG on the couch for rest of the afternoon……=)
  • I then headed to pick up my little one from school around 6pm and shot home to make of course you guessed it Pizza for dinner…….it is a tradition!  It had all our favorites on it:  mushrooms, onions, green peppers, sweet sausage, boar’s head pepperoni thinly sliced and a little cheese.  I ate 2 small slices, I wanted more but after the lunch I had I knew I shouldn’t have TOO MUCH.
Dinner

Dinner

  • The day ended early as I (we) were pretty exhausted from the busy & emotional day we had…….but of course still very excited!

So on to Saturday, 10/3/09!

Well, this day was very busy & loads of fun, as it was my daughter’s 9th Birthday Party!!!  =)

She had a “pool” party at my aunts house and I had a ton of things to do and get made/ready for the big event starting at 2pm…….so I was up and Adam at 7am sharp so I could get started early and not be rushing or late as I often am it seems.

In order to not “forget anything” I made extensive lists and attached all the recipes and such I would need for the day to it.  All this planning & prep work really paid off as the morning went quite smoothly……=) 

1st –  I made breakfast for the little one and then myself.  I had a mixed berry, orange juice, banana & ice smoothie along with 1 toasted whole-grain waffle with a little peanut butter & jelly on top.

Brealfast1

Brealfast1

Breakfast2
Breakfast2
2nd – After breakfast was finished I quickly got started on everything I needed to get done before noon, which included making & preparing the following items for the party:

3rd – I made some yummy Granola Bars (Chocolate Chip Variation) for my aunt & uncle for allowing us to utilize their house & pool for my daughters party.  I also got them a beautiful purple orchid and a nice white pot to hold it as well. 

Granola Bars (Chocolate Chip Version)

Granola Bars (Chocolate Chip Version)

4th – Both my daughter and I got ready for the party, packed the car and headed to Publix to pick up the cake, some ice-cream and ice for the cooler……then we headed to party location.

5th – We quickly unpacked the car, got all the food/drinks/decorations placed in the house just in time for the 1st party arrivals.

My daughter, myself & the Birthday Party spread!!!

My daughter, myself & the Birthday Party spread!!!

6th – PARTY TIME!!!  =)

SORRY……..I completely forgot to take pictures of everything I snacked on throughout the party as well as my cake & ice-cream I ate at the end……..as I was busy snapping shots of the party, however I did get some close up pictures of some of the food I made (though it was after everyone started digging into it, so some are a bit messy). 

Fruit Dip & Sliced Fruit

Fruit Dip & Sliced Fruit

Spinach Dip, Sourdough Bread & Whole-Wheat Pita Chips

Spinach Dip, Sourdough Bread & Whole-Wheat Pita Chips

7-Layer Taco Dip

7-Layer Taco Dip

 Plus, last but not least the “cake”!

Birthday "Chocolate" Cake

Birthday "Chocolate" Cake

After the party ended just before 5pm my daughter headed home with one of her friends for the night and I headed home to…….PASS OUT! 

No, just kidding, I put everything away, then hung out with the hubby who couldn’t attend the party because he wasn’t feeling too good.  We didn’t do much for the rest of the day and I was not in the mood for more cooking so we got “Burger King” for dinner………I had 1/2 a chicken sandwich (sorry no picture) and went to bed early of course.

I would like to say that Sunday, 10/5/09 was restful & relaxing but I actually had quite a few things to do and REST was not one of them, however it wasn’t a crazy day and I did get in a nap so that was nice. 

My day consisted of the following:

  • House Cleaning (bathrooms, kitchen & dusting)
  • Laundry
  • Quick Trip to the “Grocery Store”.
  • Photo Book Organizing (always do this around my daughters birthday & holidays)
  • Getting a Roast in the oven for dinner!
  • Making sure my daughter got all her homework & “thank you” cards done so she could play with her new toys/video games.

Here are my eats for the day:

Breakfast

Breakfast

Breakfast was a yummyhoney-wheat bagel toasted with a little syrup on the bottom then topped with bacon, egg & cheese and 1/2 a cut up peach on the side. 

Snack1

Snack1

 

Snack2

Snack2

snacked on home made chocolate chip granola bars and an orange during the day as I wasn’t very hungry for a full lunch.

Dinner

Dinner

 Dinner was a slow cooked roast with ketchup on top, a few carrots (didn’t have to many of them so I gave most of them to my daughter), cabbage & 1/2 a baked potato.

Now I will add that I did take SEVERAL bites of my daughter’s left over birthday cake throughout the day…..no pictures were involved, however I felt it important to fip and tell the truth about my “nippling”!  =O

In light of my weekend of BIRTHDAY CAKE eating I thought I would the Tip of the Day around it and give you some information on its history & such…………

bday cake

  • The birthday cake has been an integral part of the birthday celebrations in Western cultures since the middle of the 19th century.
  • The Western tradition of adding lit candles to the top of a birthday cake originates in 18th century Germany.
  • However, the intertwining of cakes and birthday celebrations stretch back to the Ancient Romans.
  • The development of the birthday cake has followed the development of culinary and confectionery advancement.
  • While throughout most of Western history, these elaborate cakes in general were the privilege of the wealthy, birthday cakes are nowadays common to most Western birthday celebrations. 
  1. October 5, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Wow, what a weekend you had. All the food looks great. I love celebrating with friends and family at brithdays.

    • October 5, 2009 at 8:56 pm

      Yeah, me too! It is one of my favorite things…..though I will admit in my “bigger” days I always looked forward to the FOOD the most and now I focus more on enjoying my time with my loved ones! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

