Home > Family & Friends, Health & Fitness > Soothing Sunday….

Soothing Sunday….

For a change I had a very “soothing” Sunday, 9/27/09, which began just a little after 7am! 

Since we (the whole family) went to bed so early on Saturday night we (my husband & I) were up very early as we typically sleep exactly 7-8 hours a night and no longer (my daughter slept until 8am).

My “To Do List” for the day is as follows:

  • Start laundry (have 3 clothing loads left + towels)
  • Clean (dusting & restrooms)
  • Help my daughter with her homework (she has a big report due this week)
  • Blog (Saturday’s post & blog roll)
  • Lunch (left overs and micro meals)
  • Shopping (the hubby wanted me to go with him, he likes company when he shops and my daughter’s birthday is fast approaching so we needed to get some ideas from her on what she wants)
  • Mother-In-Law’s House (dinner & desert)

My eats for the day were as follows and they were VERY GOOD!

Breakfast

Breakfast

Lunch (leftover "Chipotle" burrito bowl)

Lunch (leftover "Chipotle" burrito bowl)

Pre-Dinner Salad

Pre-Dinner Salad

Dinner

Dinner

Desert (YUMMY!)

Desert (YUMMY!)

Cup of Tea

Cup of Tea

My day ended in front of the tube of course and early so I would be ready for the busy Monday to come…….

The Tip Of The Day is the following question, that I have always wondered and decided to do a search online to see what I found and I got the answer I was expecting to get.

Is cleaning the house exercise?

Answer:

Physical activity comes in the form of exercise, which are those activities performed to enhance physical fitness, and work, consisting of physical activities done to keep ourselves alive.  Cleaning house is work.  Some cleaning work, such as moving furniture, is more demanding, thus burns more calories than other cleaning work, like dusting.  The problem with cleaning is that it is not usually intense enough to increase the target heart rate to deliver the benefits of a cardio-workout.  See how many calories you burn in cleaning in the Activity section at Calorie Count.

  1. September 29, 2009 at 2:14 am

    I consider house cleaning as some form of exercise. I get aa good workout, especially if you scrub your floors. lol But I just mop and cleaning alot.

    • September 29, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      Oh, I totally agree! =)

  2. September 29, 2009 at 2:58 am

    Whoa! Yummy eats! Especially that burrito bowl. Yum yum.
    I find that my sort of cleaning is always a workout. I leave all of it for one day and it creates an all day cleaning fest!

    • September 29, 2009 at 1:53 pm

      Yes, it was really good……love burrito bowls! I think the same, if I am sweating it is a work out of some sort to me. =)

  3. September 29, 2009 at 5:13 am

    That is so sad that cleaning the house is not actual exercise! I think mopping floors, scrubbing down the shower, and mowing the lawn definitely count 🙂 Have a lovely day tomorrow! That dessert looks very very yummy

    • September 29, 2009 at 1:52 pm

      Believe me so do I, I think they just wanted to point out that it doesn’t get your heart pumping as much as “cardio” does and as such you won’t get the full benefits of that. Guess I just have to do it quicker to work up that sweat. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

