Home > Family & Friends, Health & Fitness, Work > 1st Day of Fall!!!

1st Day of Fall!!!

Well, Tuesday, September 22nd marked the “1st Day of Fall” and my favorite season!!!  =) 

Fall

However, I could not enjoy it because I am of course still SICK with the cold that just will not go away and feel like crying at this point.  =(

Anyway, I am trying to keep trucking along the best I can and just keep telling myself that “luckily” for me I only get this sick about once a year. 

I of course stuck to the same Philosophy as yesterday and feed my cold the following:

Cup of Orange Juice

Cup of Orange Juice

Bowl of Banana Oatmeal w/Sliced Bananas

Bowl of Banana Oatmeal w/Sliced Bananas

Whole-Wheat Toast w/Peanut Butter & Sliced Bananas

Whole-Wheat Toast w/Peanut Butter & Sliced Bananas

3 Bean Veggie Chili

3 Bean Veggie Chili

BBQ Ranch Chicken Salad w/romaine lettuce, carrots, cucumber, celery, cherry tomatoes & a little cheese in a Whole-Wheat Wrap

BBQ Ranch Chicken Salad w/romaine lettuce, carrots, cucumber, celery, cherry tomatoes & a little cheese in a Whole-Wheat Wrap

 After dinner I pretty much “relaxed & rested” the remainder of the night and went to bed early so I could hopefully get better soon!

 On to the “Tip Of The Day”, which I will again keep in line with today’s post!

Fall Fruits & Vegetables

Fall Fruits & Vegetables

Acorn Squash

  • Look for blemish-free, dull green rind.
  • Can keep up to two months.

Apples

Butternut Squash

  • Feel for top-heavy squash.
  • Check skin for blemishes.

Cauliflower

  • Look for tightly-packed florets.
  • Check for yellow spots before buying.
  • Keeps up to five days, refrigerated.

Figs

  • Squeeze to test for firmness – not too soft, not hard.

Grapes

  • Check for grapes to be plump and vibrant-colored.

Mushrooms

  • Avoid blemished or dried out mushrooms.
  • Store in paper bag for the right humidity.

Parsnips

  • Shouldn’t look withered or limp or have too many small roots.
  • Can be stored up to four weeks in refrigerator.

Pears

Pomegranate

  • Whole pomegranates should feel heavier than they look.
  • Can be stored up to three months in the fridge.

Pumpkin

Sweet Potatoes

  • Avoid sweet potatoes with black spots.
  • Make sure they’re not shriveled.

Swiss Chard

  • Leaves should be vibrant and green.
  • Avoid wilted chard
  1. September 24, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog, Laura! Your story is so inspiring; that’s an amazing loss!!

    I feel ya on the cold; hope mine doesn’t last too long….

    • September 24, 2009 at 1:27 pm

      And, thank you for visiting mine! I love following any “weight loss” stories. =) Laura

  2. September 24, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Laura-

    Your bbq chicken wraps looks awesome! I’ll have to try that sometime. I love fall fruits and veggies. Especially all the different squash! So yummy this time of year! I also love anything and everything pumpkin!

    • September 24, 2009 at 4:15 pm

      They were good, but a bit messy as the wrap kept falling apart….have to put less in it next time and wrap it better. I love BBQ Chicken Ranch salads (stole the idea from a restaurant) and thought it might work. =)

      P.S. I love ANYTHING & EVERYTHING PUMPKIN too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

