Home > Family & Friends, Health & Fitness > Sweaty Saturday!

Sweaty Saturday!

Well my Saturday started out VERY sweaty!!! 

I woke up around 8am, layed in bed for a bit and then headed down stairs to find my husband watching wrestling.  Yes, I said wrestling!  He loves it, has since he was a kid and watches every show, I think it is cute.  =)

Anyway, I made a quick breakfast of whole-wheat toast with a little peanut butter and raspberry jelly and milk.

Breakfast

Breakfast

After breakfast I waited about 30 minutes and then headed out for a LONG RUN!  I got out there pretty late so it was  quite hot & humid, but I knew if I didn’t go in the a.m. I wouldn’t go at all……so out I went and almost an hour later I had returned all “sweaty” after completing a “4 mile run”!  Check out just how SWEATY I got……=O

Me After My Saturday Morning Run........ALL SWEATY!!!

Me After My Saturday Morning Run........ALL SWEATY!!!

I showered promptly after the picture was taken and then snacked on some melon and lots of water.
Morning Snack

Morning Snack

We (me & the hubby) then headed out for a day of shopping…….and a nice lunch at our favorite “Chinese Restaurant”!  I had wanton soup to start and then beef & veggies with a side of fried rice.
Lunch Appetizer

Lunch Appetizer

Lunch

Lunch

We returned home around 5pm and I quickly put everything away and headed out to the grocery store as the fridge was very bare.  Of course the hubby opted to stay at home and play his xBox instead of going with me.  I snapped a quick shot of the “produce” in my cart.  I forgot to take one once I filled the cart with the rest of my purchases as I was in a hurry to get home and start dinner.
My Cart (Produce)!

My Cart (Produce)!

After I left the grocery store, I rushed home, put the groceries away (with the help from the hubby of course) and started dinner, which was going to be PIZZA…….since we didn’t have time to make it on Friday!
We had our usual pizza, minus a piece for the little one since she is away, and I remembered to take pictures of each of my pizza preparation steps so that I could post them for everyone.  =)
Pizza Prep #1

Pizza Prep #1

Pizza Prep #2

Pizza Prep #2

Pizza Prep #3

Pizza Prep #3

Pizza Prep #4

Pizza Prep #4

Pizza Prep #5

Pizza Prep #5

Pizza Prep #6

Pizza Prep #6

Pizza Prep #7

Pizza Prep #7

Pizza Prep #8

Pizza Prep #8

Pizza Prep #9

Pizza Prep #9

Pizza Prep #10 (All Done & Baked!!!)

Pizza Prep #10 (All Done & Baked!!!)

My hubby had the bottom 1/2 and I had the top 1/2, of course I didn’t eat all of my 1/2 even though I made it all and was very tempted too, my husband did finish his though!

Dinner (My Slices!)

Dinner (My Slices!)

While I was making the pizza I also whipped a desert, that was featured on a fellow health bloggers’ (Running To Slow Things Down) post on Friday…….Apple Crisp!  =)

I was surprised how quick and easy it was to put together, which I took pictures of as well.

Apple Crisp Prep #1

Apple Crisp Prep #1

Apple Crisp Prep #2

Apple Crisp Prep #2

Apple Crisp Prep #3

Apple Crisp Prep #3

Apple Crisp Prep #4 (All Done & Baked!)

Apple Crisp Prep #4 (All Done & Baked!)

I was a little nervous to try it as it was my 1st official try at baking it, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was good and I liked it a lot!  Now, mind you it is a “healthy” version of the desert so it isn’t as sweet & butteryas the original but it still very good, especially paired with a scoop of ice-cream!  Plus, it is semi-guilt free!  =)

Desert

Desert

After desert we sat down to watch a nice movie before we passed out!  I have to say it was a very nice Saturday…….alone with my hubby!  =)

I thought the below “Tip Of The Day” would go great with the title of today’s post! 

Sweating Is Good For You!

Sweating is the body’s way of cooling itself. Sweating during exercise is the sign of an efficient cooling mechanism of the body.

Here’s a list of common ailments for which exercise is a good medicine. If you have one of these conditions, even the thought of exercise may be daunting. But give it a try – you won’t regret.

Arthritis: Exercise can help reduce the pain and inflammation and preserve or restore range of motion and flexibility in each affected joint. Low-impact aerobic exercises like swimming, walking, and bicycling are ideal for arthritis patients.

Depression:If you are suffering from the blues, exercising can prove to be the best medicine. Regular exercisers not only show lower the rates of depression, but are also much less likely to suffer a relapse into depression.

Diabetes: Diabetes is a condition where muscles have difficulty absorbing glucose – a sugar that provides energy- from their bloodstream. Exercise can help. People with diabetes often reduce their need for medication and maintain a normal immune system define. Exercise also helps to delay or stop cardiovascular disease- the leading killer of people with diabetes.

Heart disease:Physical activity protects against heart disease more powerfully than anything else. When one exercises, the body is better able to process the stress hormones define that increase heart rate and blood pressure. Working out further protects the heart by raising the level of brain chemical – serotonin – known to influence the risk of heart disease.

Impotence: Even a minimal exercise can help men to enjoy a healthy sex life as they age. Physical activity improves the elasticity and flexibility of blood vessels, allowing blood to flow freely to the penis, thus lowering the risk of impotence.

Obesity: The first law of leanness is that you must exercise. Exercise alone helps reduce just as much weight as one might lose with strict dieting.

 

  1. September 21, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    My kids would love that apple crisp.

  2. September 22, 2009 at 5:06 am

    I love a good sweat session, means you kicked some butt and I must say you really did on your run!

    • mistifogg
      September 22, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      That is exactly how I feel! I typically look that sweaty after most of my runs, however this one was a bit worse as it was so hot & humid outside. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

