Sick Day….=(

Thursday, was a “sick day”, but not for me, for my daughter!  =(  Poor thing has a stuffy/running nose, the sneezes and glossy eyes.  She stayed home from school so she could get some rest and hopefully get better, fingers crossed.

So needless to say my day was thrown off a bit by that as I got into work late because I ran to the store in the morning to get her some orange juice, lotion tissues and some chicken noodle soup for lunch. 

After I left the house I stopped at McDonald’s and picked myself up a sugar-free vanilla Iced Latte……which I have to admit I did not enjoy too much, it was quite “strong”, I think I will stick with my Iced Coffee’s from now on.

Iced Latte

Iced Latte

Once I finally got into work I had a toasted piece of whole-grain bread with peanut butter and sliced banana on top for breakfast

Breakfast

Breakfast

Then, not much later I had my leftovers from my Chipotle burriot bowl I had last night for lunch.

Lunch

Lunch

I can’t tell you how nice it was to have something a little different for lunch today, though I did nipple on some of my white american cheese in the fridge while I was heating it up.

I headed into 2 hours of training in the afternoon so I wasn’t able to have my late-afternoon snack until really late, 4pm.  I had Activia Light Fat Free Peach yogurt with a little granola on top and 1/2 an apple.

Late-Afternoon Snack

Late-Afternoon Snack

After work I stopped by the grocery store to pick up some stuff for dinner and then headed home, which took a little longer then I had expected it too as “traffic” was pretty bad.
 
Once at home I checked on my little one who was in her bed watching t.v. and still pretty stuffed up…..=(  I got cracking on dinner right after as it was past 6pm at this point. 
 
I decided to make an old recipe that I originally I found on www.allrecipes.com for “Salisbury Steak”…….it is so easy and really tasty!  Both my husband and daughter love salisbury steak so it is a winner in my house.  I had one piece with a little gravy and brown rice and green beans on the side
Dinner

Dinner

Check out the recipe for this dish, see the link below:
 
 
Once dinner was all done and cleaned up I got my daughter in a nice hot bath and then in bed for the night, hoping that if she got a good nights sleep she would be “better” in the a.m. as she has a busy day on Friday and the weekend for that matter.  I then watched some t.v. with the hubby and went to bed.
 
I missed the gym tonight, I go every Tuesday & Thursday, as my parents pick my daughter up from school on those days for me and have for years so I can hit the gym………however with my daughter being sick at home with my husband I thought it best I head straight home after work instead of the gym.  So both Thursday & Friday are going to be “OFF” days for me this week and I am hoping to get in a long run on Saturday morning.
 
On to the “Tip Of The Day”, that once again goes perfect with today’s post title………
 
Foods That Fight Illness
 
Garliccontains allicin, which is a natural antibiotic, antiviral and antifungal agent.

Vitamin C Levels of vitamin C are depleted during illness and boosting the bodies levels of vitamin C may actually reduce cold symptoms. Vitamin C is also needed for the healing of wounds. Vitamin C also increases the bodies absorption of iron. Good sources include kiwis, citrus fruits, sweet peppers, blackcurrants, dark green leafy vegetables and strawberries.

Apple is very easy to digest. In the US, the BRAT diet (bananas, rice, apples and toast) is often suggested by doctors for the relief of diarrhoea. Pectin, the soluble fibre contained in apples also helps to relieve constipation.

Papaya is also high in soluble fibre important for normal bowel function. It also contains enzymes that help digestion. It is a rich source of vitamin C and beta-carotene.

Bananas are packed full of slow release sugars for sustained energy. They are also great for treating both constipation and diarrhoea. However they do seem to cause constipation in some susceptible babies.

  1. September 19, 2009 at 3:28 am

    Is that where the “apple a day” quote came from!

    • mistifogg
      September 19, 2009 at 4:12 pm

      I think so! =)

  2. September 19, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I don’t think I’ve had any papaya this whole year. IDK why, b/c it’s great!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

