Home > Family & Friends, Health & Fitness, Work > Sugar, Sugar & More Sugar!

Sugar, Sugar & More Sugar!

Well, today was a sugar, sugar & more sugar day!!! 

Let’s just call it Sugar Wednesday……..it all started when I first walked into the office and came face to face with this in the kitchen!  =O 

Dunkin Donuts Box

Then of course I opended the box and saw this!  =O
EVIL ONE'S!!!

EVIL ONE'S!!!

YES!  I took one, the coconut one on the left, 2nd row!  I could have reisted but I said “what the heck” and had it with some grapes on the side for breakfast this morning.  

Full of Sugar Breakfast!  =(

Full of Sugar Breakfast! =(

Healthy Breakfast Side!  =)

Healthy Breakfast Side! =)

NO, not one of the best choices but hey you have to treat yourself every once in awhile……..and I am happy to say I only had “1” donut as in the past I would of have 2 or 3 as donut sare one of my favorites and  “weaknesses”, however I am able to resist them this time! =)

Now, I would like to say I had a very healthy lunch to make up for this morning’s choices, however that is not the case as I went out for a Coworker’s Birthday Lunch and of course there was “cake” involved.

Happy Birthday Sandy (Cake)

I ended up having a bbq chicken “mini” pizza, which I LOVE, for lunch and then of course a “small” piece of cake!  DOUBLE YUMMY!

Lunch

Lunch

Small Piece of Cake!

Small Piece of Cake!

Everything was really good but I sure did pay for it after (on the way back to the office) as I felt like I was going to fall asleep! 

Can you say “SUGAR CRASH”!!!  I sure can!  I find it amazing that once you stop eating the stuff on a regular basis that it can reck havoc in your body when you do eat it.  =(

After the birthday lunch, which was a few hours long, I had a TON of work to do so I didn’t eat anything at work for the rest of the day.

I got home I quickly after work…..changed into my running cloths and headed out for a nice long run as both the hubby & daughter were not quite hungry yet but I knew they would be soon!

I was out there for 40 minutes (time included some walking at the beginning and end of my run), running just over 3 miles and despite a bit of wind that kept pushing me back I had a really nice run last night.  =)  I also went iPodless again and really liked it, think I will keep it up from now on, as I really seem to be more in tune with my running without it.  Anyone else feel the same???  Or can you not run at all without your “music”???

After I got home I whipped up some left over spaghetti & broccoli for my little one and then headed to Chipolte for dinner for me and the hubby (it is not even a mile from my house). 

The hubby had a steak burrito, that he said was amazing but “hot”.  I had a chicken burrito bowl full of the following:

  • a little rice
  • black beans
  • chicken
  • fresh tomato salsa (that was a bit spicy)
  • lettuce
  • cheese
  • sour cream

It was REALLY good and I have to admit I “whoofed” it down (only 1/2 of it though, saved the rest for lunch today)!

Dinner

Dinner

Dinner (Close Up)

Dinner (Close Up)

You may be thinking that is A LOT of “sour cream” and yes, I would have to agree, however once you mix it all up it doesn’t seem as great……plus I love the stuff (one of my weakness, especially when it comes to Mexican Food)!

After dinner, I took a much needed shower, then got my daughter into bed as she has the beginnings of a “cold”!  =(  I watched some UFC fighting with my husband (he loves it and yes I have to admit so do I, sorry for those that do not agree with the sport, but I started watching it several years ago with him and now I enjoy it as well……aside from some really bloody parts of course) and went to bed!

On to the “Tip Of The Day”, which is about SUGAR of course, the main topic of this post!

sugar

Sugar Basics

Most of us have seen white granulated sugar all of our lives, but what makes it bad for us? Made up of carbon, hydrogen and oxygen, sugar (or sucrose) is a carbohydrate. Sucrose is made up of two simpler sugars, fructose and glucose.

Sucrose is also naturally in plants, including fruit. Most fruits are not on the Body Ecology program, since they are too sweet and feed the systemic fungal infection, candida. Very sour fruits like lemons, limes, black currant juice and sour grapefruit are usually fine for most people.

There IS a difference between naturally occurring sucrose in plants and the sucrose found in granulated sugar or the high fructose corn syrup often used to sweeten processed foods.

Both granulated sugar and high fructose corn syrup go through a refining process…they are called “empty calories” because they offer no nutritional value. In addition, they are addictive and rob your body of energy and health.

25 Reasons to Avoid Sugar

Sure sugar tastes good, when you are used to eating the Standard American Diet, high in processed foods. But once you start eliminating it from your diet, you lose your cravings for sugar…and you are on your way to natural energy and greater health!

Here some of the dangers of consuming sugar:

  1. Feeds candida
  2. Promotes wrinkling and aging skin
  3. Makes your blood acidic
  4. Can lead to osteoporosis
  5. Rots your teeth
  6. Raises your blood sugar level
  7. Contributes to obesity
  8. Is addictive (almost as much as drugs)
  9. Can create the urge to binge
  10. Provides ’empty calories’ with no nutritional value
  11. Contributes to diabetes
  12. Robs your body of minerals
  13. Robs you of energy
  14. Contributes to heart problems
  15. Can cause cancer
  16. Contributes to ulcers
  17. Can cause gallstones
  18. Contributes to adrenal fatigue
  19. Can suppress your immune system
  20. Raises the level of neurotransmitters called serotonin
  21. Weakens eyesight
  22. Sugar can cause hypoglycemia (low blood sugar levels)
  23. Can cause aging
  24. Can contribute to eczema
  25. Can cause arthritis

 

  1. JHunt
    September 17, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    That BBQ chicken pizza looks so good! I am not a fan of donuts, but if there would be bagels, I would devour them all!
    -Jessica @ http://howsweet.wordpress.com/

    • mistifogg
      September 18, 2009 at 1:24 pm

      Yeah, BBQ chicken pizza is my total favorite! I prefer more of a thin crust one but that one was really good too, just wish I had a bit more of it as it was quite tiny and I was “straving”. Thank you for your comment! =) Laura

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

