Home > Family & Friends, Health & Fitness, Work > Little Froggy…..

Little Froggy…..

Yesterday, was a very busy and exhausting day……..that just seemed to “fly by”!  In the morning, before I left for work I had a piece of my Breakfast bread with a side of melon and water for breakfast.
Breakfast

Breakfast

I then had some yogurt and granola after I got into work as I was still hungry.
Breakfast #2

Breakfast #2

And, then a late-morning snack of toasted whole-grain bread with peanut butter and 1/2 a sliced banana on top.
Late-Morning Snack

Late-Morning Snack

Lunch ended up being quite late, as I was swamped and just couldn’t get away from my desk…….I finally was able to around 2pm and had my favorite again of course, one piece of whole-grain bread with Boar’s Head oven-gold turkey and white cheese with a little mayo, lettuce & tomato and on the side I had baby carrots and 1/2 an apple.
Lunch

Lunch

*Did you notice my new plate, I got it at Target!  =)
 
After work I picked up my daughter at school then headed home and quickly changed into my running gear so I could head outside before it rained and so I could get done early as I needed to get dinner started.

Even after the day I had I told myself I would just do an easy (slow) run today.  After I got my shoes on I went to get my iPod that my husband has been using as he broke his and wouldn’t you guess…….it was “dead”, so my iPod was missing during lat nights run!  =(

Missing iPod!  =(

Missing iPod! =(

I didn’t let that keep me from running and headed out without it!  I honestly thought it was going to be an even tougher run without it, however to my very pleasant surprise I really enjoyed my run iPodless last night!  It was actually nice to enjoy the sounds of the world (I would say nature but I heard mainly cars and such) for a change and I think not having the different types (slow, fast, etc.) of songs pumping through my ears helped me be more in “tune” with my running pace as well, as I found that after mile 2 I wanted to keep going as I felt really good, unfortunately I had to stop as dinner needed to be cooked but it was a great feeling!  =)

After I got home I was greeted at my front door by our little froggy that lives in the plant on our front porch, isn’t he cute!?!

Little Froggy

Little Froggy

He has been living in our plant for quite a while now, I think lots of bugs & little ants visit the plant on a daily basis and this provides him or her with lots of food so he or she sticks around.  My daughter just loves him or her!

I then headed in and quickly got started on dinner, which was Taco’s & Rice!  I actually had a taco salad that included the following:

  • shredded lettuce
  • chopped tomatoes
  • yellow rice w/corn
  • taco meat
  • cheese & sour cream
  • torita chips
Taco Salad

Taco Salad

It was actually really good, though I only was able to eat 1/2 of it as I got full quickly, I always seem to think I can eat more than I actually can, especially when it comes to salads.

After dinner, I took a much needed shower and then did some ironing, read my new favorite book (see below) on the couch with my husband for a while and went to bed early as I was so tired, YAWN!

Marathon ~ You can do it!

Marathon ~ You can do it!

 On to the “Tip Of The Day”!!!

Go Nuts For Your Heart

go nuts for your heart

go nuts for your heart

Not a fish fan?  You don’t have to choke it down to get omega-3s, finds a study from Loma Linda University.  Walnuts, which are also high in these fats, were shown to help control cholesterol better than seafood does!  People who ate a 1.5-ounce serving (21 halves) a day lowered their LDL (“bad”) cholestrol by about 9% in one month – a 13% greater drop than those who got two 4-ounce servings of salmon a week.  Fish, however, was better at reducing triglyceride levels.  So incorporate both types of  omega-3s into your diet by including an ALA source, such as walnuts, and DHA and EPA from fish and fortified foods.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

