Home > Family & Friends, Health & Fitness > Rest of the weekend!

Rest of the weekend!

Well, I left off my last post with me leaving to make dinner before the husband asked “what’s for dinner?” again, which is basically his way of saying “I am hungry!”.

I made spagetti for dinner on Saturday night.  I used a “Newman’s Own Tomato Basil” sauce and then added finely ground in the blender hamburger & onions that I cooked up prior to the sauce.  We had it over angel hair pasta.  I prefer whole-wheat pasta, but I forgot to get some at the store early in the day.  It was really good, filling and both the husband & daughter liked it so that is always good.

Saturday Night Dinner!
Saturday Night Dinner!

After dinner my husband and myself pretty much vegged on the couch until 11pm when we both agreed we were tired and went to bed.  I know aren’t are weekend nights, exciting?!?!  NOT!  Actually, we typically have pretty hectic weekends, this one just happened to be a “rest” one, which we really needed.

Sunday morning I woke up just before 8am and put in on of my last loads of laundry (towels), then started on my “house cleaning”, after I finished the upstairs bathrooms I headed downstairs just before 10am to make some breakfast I was getting quite hungry.

I typically make a big breakfast on Sunday mornings.  This morning I made scrambled eggs (2 whole eggs), 3 slices of bacon, 2 slices of Publix “Breakfast Bread” that I toasted and added a little butter too, then some cut up melon and a glass of orange juice.  Everythign was amazing and kept me full well into the afternoon!  =)

Sunday Morning Breakfast!
Sunday Morning Breakfast!

I would like to take a minute to “highlight” Publix Breakfast Bread, which I have wanted to buy several times in the past but resisted because it cost about $4 for a loaf.  However, on Saturday I found a mini-loaf of it on sale for $2 and thought I would try it out, boy am I glad I did because it is AMAZING!  It has tons of dried fruit in it too and is so delicious.

Publix Breakfast Bread
Publix Breakfast Bread
Publix Breakfast Bread (Close Up)
Publix Breakfast Bread (Close Up)

 After breakfast I finished the rest of my house cleaning and then made some chili for the week (2 weeks if frozen).  The recipe I use is Jamie’s Chili, Paula Dean’s son, from the “Food Network”, which you can find at this weblink below:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paulas-home-cooking/jamies-chili-recipe/index.html

See the below pictures that show each step that I followed while making the Chili:

Chili (1)
Chili (1)
Chili (2)

Chili (2)

Chili (3)

Chili (3)

Chili (4)

Chili (4)

Chili (5)

Chili (5)

Chili (6)

Chili (6)

Chili (7)

Chili (7)

Chili (8)

Chili (8)

Both myself and my husband love this chili!  It has tons of veggies (celery, onions, green peppers & crushed tomatoes) and protein (black beans, kidney beans, chili beans and hamburger) in it.  We typically have it for lunches, as it is a great quick meal.  I like to add cheese and crackers to mine, yummy.  You could easily make this a Vegetarian Meal by not adding the hamburger, see picture 6.

After I finished the chili I made lunch, which was a little plate with some pita chips, roasted red pepper humus, celery, baby carrots and grapes.

Sunday "Small Plate" Lunch

Sunday "Small Plate" Lunch

I then finished my laundry and took a little nap, as the husband was playing the XBox and my daughter was on the computer.  After I woke up about 2 hours later, I felt really rested and we headed out to grandma’s as my daughter has 2 Fundraisers going right now, one from School and the other from Girl Scouts, so she wanted to sell her & her neighbors that she knows well some stuff. 

Fundraisers

Fundraisers

Upon our return home, with a few checks in my daughters hand, I got cracking on dinner…..which was a new one for me so I was a little nervous about it.  While at the grocery store on Saturday we came upon a lady that was giving away samples of marinated pork loin roast that was on sale, my daughter loved it and my husband has been wanting a new pork dish (I usually just make pork chops once a week), so I thought I would give it a try.  I started off by marinating the pork loin all day in the fridge and then I took it out and baked it at 450 degrees for about 30+ minutes, for 1 & 1/2 pounds, it came out good but a bit over done so next time I will cut about 5 minutes off the cooking time.  I paired it with a side salad & some sweet potato fries I made in the oven at the same time .

Sunday Dinner

Sunday Dinner

After dinner I had a little piece of desert!  =)  My favorite chocolate in the world (aside from Belgium chocolate that is), an english chocolate bar named “Twirl Bar”.  I used to live in England when I was a kid as my step-dad was in the Military and we were stationed overseas for several years and while there I fell in love with there chocolate and lucky me Publix sales some.

Twirl Bar  =)

Twirl Bar =)

 That about wraps up the rest of my weekend, so on to the “Tip Of The Day”, in which I owe you two (2) to make up for one missing on Saturday!

THE 12 BEST FOODS FOR YOUR ABS

12-Best-Abs-Foods

12-Best-Abs-Foods

THINNER YOU = HEALTHIER PLANT

scale

Reversing the damage of global warming won’t be easy, but we all can help just by losing a little weight! 

Researchers at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine found that the heavier we are, the more greenhouse gases we produce.

Here’s how it works, according to their research:  If you eat more, it takes more energy to produce your food; if you gain weight, you’re more likely to drive a car than walk (using more energy), and the car you drive is likely to be a larger car (which is less fuel-efficient). 

Mother Nature would really like us to go on a diet!

  1. September 14, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    hey! im sure we’ll be doing a brunch after miracle miles, i hope we can meet up!!! i will prob put out a blog announcemnet about it, but if you miss it be sure to shoot me an email. 🙂

  2. mistifogg
    September 14, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Oh, that would be a lot of fun! My coworker/friend is supposed to be running the race with me too. I will keep an eye out for the “annoucement” on your blog as race day approaches……I am so excited, this is my 1st race of the season! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

