Home > Health & Fitness > Pizza, Rainy Run & Grocery Shopping!

Pizza, Rainy Run & Grocery Shopping!

Well as I stated in my post on Friday I forgot my camera at home on Friday morning so I was not able to take any pictures of what I ate throughout the day until Dinner that is, so I will give you a quick recap of what I ate and then start on with the picures……

For breakfast on Friday I had whole grain toast with sliced bananas on top and coffee, then for lunch I had a 1/2 a whole grain piece of bread with a little mayo Boar’s Head oven-gold turkey and white cheese with lettuce and tomato, plus a side of pickles and 1/2 an apple.

The boss let me leave early from work so I headed home to spend some time with the hubby and get dinner started before I had to rush and pick up my daughter from school and take her to her Girl Scout meeting.  While she was there me and one of the other mother’s went to the grocery store for a few things and then headed back and got the girls and went home.  I love all my daughter get’s from the Girl Scouts, however sometimes the bi-weekly Friday meetings can be a bit inconvenient.

Once we got home, just before 8pm, I hurried up and finished dinner, which was homemade PIZZA!   =)  I made one pizza but in three (3) different ways:

  • Husband’s – mushrooms, green peppers, sweet sausage, pepperoni & light cheese
  • Mine – mushrooms, green peppers, onions, sweet sausage, pepperoni & light cheese
  • Daughter’s – cheese
Whole Pizza

Whole Pizza

My Pizza

My Pizza

After dinner we watched some t.v. until we all passed out from exhaustion after the LONG WEEK!
I woke to a “rainy” Saturday morning, which allowed me to sleep in a bit but made my morning run a bit wet and muggy out.  I only did a slow 2+ mile run.
When I got home I hit the shower, put a load of laundry in, made myself a orange juice & banana smoothie and had it with a FiberOne chocolate chip granola bar (that has a whooping “9 grams of fiber” in it) for my breakfast. 
Breakfast

Breakfast

I then headed out with the little one (my daughter) to the grocery store, here is my list that I made yesterday at work.
My Grocery List

My Grocery List

I map my shopping list by each of the departments in the store and then in order by the way I shop around the store so that I not only remember to get everything I need but I also am not wasting time walking from one end of the store to the other looking for items.
Check out everything from the list in my cart!
My Shoping Cart

My Shoping Cart

And, this is a “sample” snack I had at the grocery store, it was a chicken corn casserole & some chocolate mint pudding desert, but were really good.
"Sample" Snack

"Sample" Snack

An hour and a 1/2 after ariving we are done and at home unpacking everything.

What I bought (1)

What I bought (1)

What I bought (2)

What I bought (2)

What I bought (3)

What I bought (3)

I also had quite a few dry items that my husband already put away before I could take the picture and some household items that I sat by the stairs.

Once all the groceries were put away I started on lunch for everyone.  My daughter had her favorite soup, grapes &  apple juice.  My husband had a steak and pepperoni sandwich with onions, lettuce and tomato on a hoogie bun with chips.  I had a small side salad with italian dressing and pita chips with roasted red pepper humus.

Husband's Lunch

Husband's Lunch

My Lunch

My Lunch

 After lunch I did some more laundry and snacked on some grapes and a glass of water.

Snack

Snack

Then I sat down to write this post, which was a few hours ago but I had to stop in middle to drop my daughter off at the movie theater so her grandma could take her to a movie, then I had more laundry to do.

I will be posting an extra “Tip Of The Day” tomorrow as I need to go and start dinner before the husbands ask’s again “what’s for dinner”!  =)

How much do you think I spent on that full cart of groceries above that not only included all the food in the 3 pictures but also about 3+ pounds of hamburger, a pork loin, tons of canned veggies & beans for chili I am making on Sunday, as well as other dry items that were not pictured (rice, granola bars, croutons, pita chips & pasta) and laundry items as well?  The reason I ask this question is that it might not be as much as you might think (I have a very tight grocery budget).  I think many people believe you have to spend more to eat “healthy” and I know for a fact that is not true.  =)

Categories: Health & Fitness
  1. September 13, 2009 at 1:49 am

    whoa – that is quite the “sample” – it’s almost a full meal!

    • mistifogg
      September 13, 2009 at 3:03 pm

      Yeah, I actually shared it with my daughter. =)

  2. September 22, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today and commenting on my grocery budget post. I am really excited about doing this challenge for myself. I would really like to get ours to about $75 to $100 a week but I am really nervous about making that happen!

    • September 23, 2009 at 2:16 pm

      Thank you for your comment and you can do it! Just plan your meals ahead of time and keep track of everythign you but in your card (no impulse buys too). =)

  3. September 23, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Wowza – LOVE your list and grocery shopping strategies!!! I am going to say $125 for everything!

    • September 23, 2009 at 3:16 pm

      Very close! It was $144, exactly! Which just happened to be what I had to spend that day. =) Thank you for your comment & viewing my new blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

