Home > Family & Friends > September 11th

September 11th

thumbnail

As I am sure everyone is aware of today is September 11th – a very sad day from our pasts that will always be remembered! 

It is hard to not see or hear the date and remember that day in history!

Even 8 years later I still remember exactly where I was when I first heard the news after the 1st plane hit.  See back in 2001 I lived in Bayonne, New Jersey…….which was just across the Hudson River from Manhattan and I had a clear view of the towers from my home there at the time. 

I was actually on my way to work, heading over the river with the towers behind me (could see them in my rear view mirror) when the first accounts over the radio came through about the 1st plane hitting.  At that early stage the callers to the radio station thought it was a much smaller plane then it in fact was and what still brings chills to my bones today is that those callers I was listening to that fateful morning were from the opposite tower that had yet to be hit. 

By the time I got to work about 10 or so minutes later, everyone was talking about what really happened and how it was in fact an airliner that hit the tower and as the rest unfolded my heart just sank as my then not even a year old daughter was at home with her Dad just a few short miles away from scene!

I couldn’t rush home right away as the Port Authority closed all the roads leading in and out of the city and as such my route home was one of those effected.  By mid-afternoon I finally was on the road as I heard they opened up the overpass to the Lincoln Tunnel, which stayed closed of course but I could use the overpass road to the tunnel get home.

Now though I finally found a route home, it took me a total of 8+ hours to actually get home as everyone else was using the same one as me!  In light, of that long delay home I will forever have the below picture etched in my mind as I had a clear view of it from the overpass that I was stuck on for hours.

earlydays6_400

The cloud of smoke stayed for almost 2 weeks and when it finally was gone the city never looked the same!  =(

The next month at my daughters 1st Birthday Party our landlord (who lived downstairs from us in a two story house) told me how he was supposed to be at work that day, see he worked on top of one of the towers at a restaurant as a server and had for years, but he called in sick that day!  It was so eery and I know it affected him for years to come as I know it did for many others.

My heart goes out to all those who were Personally affected by those horrible events in our history!!!

Categories: Family & Friends
  1. gregandal
    September 12, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Hi Laura! I really loved your post—what a great story, and I’m so glad that you and your family are safe. Also, I think your blog is great! My boyfriend and I just started a blog of our own, and I’d love if you would visit and tell us what you think. Please check us out at venusandmarsbags.wordpress.com

    Have a great day!
    Allison

    • mistifogg
      September 13, 2009 at 12:01 am

      Thank you for comment and I will check out your blog. =) Laura

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

