Home > Health & Fitness > Hump Day

Hump Day

Well, my Hump Day (Wednesday), was quite busy, but then again everyday is for me it seems these days…….

For, breakfast I started my morning off with peanut butter on whole grain toast with 1/2 and apple on the side, needed a break from the oatmeal and was out of bananas.

Breakfast

Breakfast

I then got hungry late morning and snacked on a clementine and cocoa roast almonds (these are so good and a great 100 Calorie snack that includes 2 grams of fiber and 3 grams of protein and it comes in a very easy to carry around pack that I stash in my desk drawer and purse).

Snack

Snack

Then my boss surprised me with a early afternoon treat, which just happened to be my new favorite cookie……..a cranberry & white chocolate chunk cookie that is so good and moist, YUMMY!  =)

Cookie =)

Cookie =)

I once again had a late lunch in the afternoon and once again my recent favorite…….Boar’s Head oven-gold turkey with white cheddar cheese on one slice of toasted whole grain bread with a little mayo, lettuce & tomato and on the side I had pickles.

Lunch

Lunch

I am sure you see a “trend” now if you have been following my post, which is that I tend to eat many of the same breakfasts & lunches throughout the week, I do this for 2 reasons:

  1. Easy preparation!
  2. Easy on the budget!

These are two very important thing for “this” working mom and wife…..so even though I do not always like it, it is necessary and I try to make up for it on the weekends by having more of a variety!

After work I picked up my daughter from school then headed home and started dinner that needed to sit in the fridge for 30+ minutes after being prepped so I decided to take advantage of that time it would be in there and go our for my run then instead of after dinner as I usually do on Wednesdays. 

I did a 3 mile outside run, which was not quite a struggle to do but not exactly smooth either, sort of in-between.  I believe it took me around 45 minutes or so, as I forgot to look at the clock before I left.  I managed to do it without stopping, which I hate to do if I can avoid it (except on my longer runs) and I felt great afterwards! 

Historically, I have been more of a treadmill runner during the “summer” here in Florida as I find the heat & humidity to be difficult and not so fun to run in outside, HOWEVER since I am training for a fast approaching race (2 months and counting) that is “outside” I know I need to run outside and have forced myself to do since July!  Luckily, it hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would have be and I plan to stick with running outside “year round” from now on!

After my return, I quickly whipped up dinner as I knew the little one would be “hungry” and asking for dinner soon!  We had fried pork chops (I only used a little butter on the bottom of the pan as I was out of corn oil) with white rice & green beans/bean salad.  Now, “fried” pork chops are not exactly the healthiest way to eat them, however I always cut off all the fat and again it is all about “moderation” and having them from time to time is OK, plus I only eat a small one.

Dinner

Dinner

On to the “Tip Of The Day”!

BURN MORE FAT THE TASTY WAY

Diet Now 

Sip White Tea

New research shows that, compared with other types of tea, white tea contains more caffeine and epigallocatechin-3-gallate (EGCG) – – – the chemicals that scientists believe break down fat cells and prevent new ones from forming. 

Eat Your Eggs

The protein in an egg breakfast makes you feel “fuller” than the carbs in a bagel, researchers at the University of Connecticut say.  And don’t worry about cholesterol – – – the study found that egg eaters don’t have higher LDL (the bad cholesterol) or lower HDL (the good kind) than bagel eaters.

The above is so true, I read it everywhere and know from experience!

Make Mine Mini

Those 100-calorie packets really do help you control calories – – – maybe even when you’re not eating them, according to researchers at the University of Colorado Denver.  The calorie-conscious packaging can make you more sensitive to “portion size”, helping you eat less even from a bigger bag.

As you can see from my 100-calorie pack above, I totally agree with this and have learned to keep my portion size in check as well!

SEE YOU TOMORROW!  =) 

Categories: Health & Fitness
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

