Home > Health & Fitness > Monday on a Tuesday

Monday on a Tuesday

Well my Monday (Tuesday) started nicely as I felt rested & relaxed after the long weekend………however it quickly got quite hectic and tiring as the day went on! 

For breakfast I ate my usual, high-fiber maple brown sugar oatmeal with a clementine on the side and a cup of coffee. 

High-Fiber Oatmeal w/Clementine & Coffee

High-Fiber Oatmeal w/Clementine & Coffee

I think I need to get a nicer bowl as my oatmeal pictures just do not seem to come out that “appealing”……..=(

On to lunch, which was rather late as I was stuck to my computer like glue most of the day.  I had my new favorite these past few weeks……a 1/2 a whole grain (high-fiber) “Boar’s Head” oven-gold turkey &  white cheddar cheese sandwich with lettuce, forgot my tomato at home, and a side pickle and 1/2 an apple.

1/2 Turkey & Cheese Whole Grain Sandwich w/Pickle & Apples

1/2 Turkey & Cheese Whole Grain Sandwich w/Pickle & Apples

I would like to point out that I have always “loved” whole wheat/grain breads, not only is it good but good for you.  I make it a point to always find the highest fiber ones I can.  This weekend I purchased Arnold’s WholeGrains Bread that has Double Fiber & 100% Whole Wheat, which I pictured below along with its Nutritional information.  As you can see it has a whopping 6 Grams of Fiber per serving (1 piece of bread), if you eat just 2 servings a day of this you will have met 1/3 of your daily requirement!

Arnold's WholeGrains Bread w/Double Fiber & 100% Whole Wheat

Arnold's WholeGrains Bread w/Double Fiber & 100% Whole WheatNutrition Facts

 

Nutrition Facts

Nutrition Facts

*Throughout the past few years I have made it a habit to look and read the “Nutrition Facts” on everything I purchase!  In fact, I have passed on purchasing many items due to what I read on these labels.  Start doing it yourself, you may be surprised what you find!
  
Yesterday, I left work a little early so I could get to the gym early as I had to be home early (sense a pattern here) as it was my Mother-In-Law’s 60th Birthday and we wanted to surprise her with her favorite cake that I baked on Monday.  I only had about an hour in the gym after I got there and changed so I did about 15 minutes of abs, 15 minutes of arm free weights hitting my biceps, triceps, shoulders and a little chest/back and then I ran a “fast” 2 miles……..at 5.5mph – 6.5mph, ending at just under 21 minutes, putting me at around 10:30 minute miles!  =)
 
After we finished at my Mother-In-Law’s I came home and had a little dinner, not too much because it was late (8:00p.m.+).  I had a piece of “Montreal Red Chicken” I made over the weekend with a little white rice and green beans.  This is one favorite quick dinners, it is actually better heated up later than on the day you actually make it so it is perfect for those late nights.
  
Montreal Red Chicken

Montreal Red Chicken

White Rice

White Rice

Green Beans

Green Beans

 
Starting today I am going to posting Nutrition & Fitness TIPS at the end of each of my posts!  I read a lot of these tips throughout the week in my health & fitness magazines or online and find the information very educational and have used many of them in my own life so maybe you can too……..=)
 

EAT THAT DAIRY!!!
Calcium can help you lose weight, even without cutting calories – – – especially if you’re not getting enough now, reports a study in the British Journal of Nutrition.  Over 15 weeks, obese women who doubled their daily intake from 600 milligrams to 1,200 lost an average of 11 pounds more than those who didn’t boost their quota.  The brain could be detecting a calcium deficiency and then telling the body to eat more to make up for it.  So chow down on low-fat dairy products – like yogurt, string cheese, and mile – every day!

*I have been “slacking” lately on my dairy intake, forgot to buy yogurt this weekend, so I have to get mine back in check soon as I read the same above information everywhere now!  =(

Categories: Health & Fitness
  1. September 9, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Hello fellow new blogger! Your journey sounds amazing, so inspirational. Thank goodness for healthy living blogging, keeps me in check everyday. Good luck to you too!

    • mistifogg
      September 9, 2009 at 7:51 pm

      Thank you, Morgan! You provided me with my 1st offical COMMENT! =) I have been reading seeral “healthy living blogs” starting with EatLikeMe at SELF and just fell in love and was SO INSPIRED by them, I credit them to me losing the last of my 100 pounds! I am really enjoying it so far (though a bit overwhelming at times) and hope to inspire others as I was inspired! =)

  2. September 9, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Hey Laura,
    This is really cool – very inspirational and informative. You truly are a wonderful spokesperson for the merits of living a healthier lifestyle. I am still in awe over the incredible transformation you have made in your own life. Keep up the good work and continue your quest for educating and inspiring the rest of us.
    Thanks,
    Debbie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

