Home > Health & Fitness > Holiday Weekend Wrap-Up

Holiday Weekend Wrap-Up

Well, the long holiday weekend is over and I am back to work! 

Normally, after the weekend I still feel tired after from all the chores, visits, events and such I did over the weekend……however today I find myself feeling very “rested” after the 3 day weekend and do not mind being back at work so much. 

Since I wasn’t able to do any posts over the weekend as I advised last Friday I have a lot to Wrap-Up for you guys…….

1st after I left work on Friday afternoon I headed right to the gym and ran 6 miles in 72 minutes (1 hour & 12 minutes), which is a 12 minute mile pace.  I typically run a 10.30 – 11.00 minute mile pace right now, however on longer runs I run slower so I can keep my pace and energy going throughout the entire run.  It was an amazing run to my surprise and despite my iPod dying half way through my fun.  I felt great the rest of the afternoon!  =)

I munched on some veggies and crackers when I got home from the gym as I didn’t want to be too full since I made a homemade pizza for myself, husband and daughter that Friday night, which consisted of 1 pizza but 3 different versions as you can see pictured below:

Pizza for 3!

Pizza for 3!

On Saturday morning I made myself a Green Monster Smoothie which for those of you that have never heard of it consists the following:

  • 1/4 cup of oatmeal
  • 1-2 cups of spinach
  • 1 cup of milk
  • handful of ice
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tablespoon of peanut butter

You pulse blend the first three ingredients and then add the last three, blend until smooth………and ENJOY!  =)

Green Monster Smoothie

Green Monster Smoothie

It may not look very appetizing, but I promise you it tastes good and is also very good for you! 

Seeing that I was planning on taking my Mother-In-Law to Mt. Dora for her birthday that afternoon I only had the Green Monster for breakfast as I knew I would be eating plenty of “not so healthy” things later in the day…..so I wanted to make sure I started my day with something “healthy” at the very least.

On Saturday afternoon my Mother-In-Law, my daughter and myself had lunch at “The Windsor Rose Tea Room” in Mt. Dora.

The Windsor Rose Tea Room

The Windsor Rose Tea Room

Since it was my Mother-In-Law’s first visit I ordered the below for all of us to share and she loved everything, so my birthday surprise was a HUGE success!  =)

 The Windsor – Full English Tea for Two

A tea meal in grand style, served on a two tier cake stand. Our freshly baked scones with Clotted Cream and Strawberry jam. Queen Victoria Sponge Cake, assorted Finger Sandwiches and French Pastries with Tea for Two.

We had to do a lot of “walking” after we ate all the above, but it was totally worth it and we are already planning our next visit so we can try some of their other wonderful dishes (cottage/cornish pie, orange cake, etc.).

That Saturday evening I made my husband hamburger & fries for dinner and I had a small shrimp cocktail and a side salad.  I completely forgot to take pictures of everything…….still trying to get used to this picture thing so please bear with me.

Sunday morning was a bit different then my normal one, which typically includes “house cleaing” as my whole family decided to surprise my grandma for her birthday by attending church on Sunday and then meet for a birthday brunch afterwards at my aunts. 

So needless to say we had to rush out of the house quickly that morning in order to make it to church on time, so we missed breakfast, however we made up for it later that morning by having a piece of yummy strawberry cake after church and then an amazing brunch around noon.

Grandma's Birthday Cake

Grandma's Birthday Cake

Brunch Table

Brunch Table

 
My Brunch Plate & OJ

My Brunch Plate & OJ

My aunt’s brunch was so good and included baked french toast (had 2 servings of this), a amazing curry chicken salad (yummy), bacon and strawberries.

 My grandma was very pleasantly surprised with all that the day had in store for her and it was so nice to see the smile on her face…..=)

Grandma & Me

Grandma & Me

I was pretty full after the morning cake & brunch and also knew that my Mother-In-Law’s famous bbq ribs would be coming that night so I pretty much skipped lunch and headed right for dinner!

So as you might have guessed Sunday night dinner was…..bbq ribs with a side veggie salad……..YUMMY!

Yummy Ribs!

Yummy Ribs!

Fast forward to Monday morning I slept in a little bit, then got up started some laundry (which continued throughout the day), changed into my running cloths and headed out for a nice 3 mile run around 10am.  Usually, I would have eaten a little something before I left, however it was getting late and the sun was getting higher so I wanted to get out there before it got TOO HOT outside.  After my return I showered and had peanut butter with sliced bananas and raspberry jelly on whole wheat toast with orange juice for breakfast.

Breakfast

Breakfast

Then on Monday afternoon I had a pulled pork sandwich with bean salad on the side, this is one of my favorite plates……I loved pulled pork!

Pulled Pork Sandwich w/Bean Salad

Pulled Pork Sandwich w/Bean Salad

After lunch I made a German Chocolate Bundt Cake for my Mother-In-Law’s actual birthday (Tuesday, 9/8/09)……..I use a recipe that modifies a cake mix recipe in order to make the cake more moist and delicious, it smelled so good in the house, I can’t wait to try a piece!

German Chocolate Bundt Cake

German Chocolate Bundt Cake

Then seeing that it was in fact Monday night (though of course it felt like Sunday night), I made my usual Taco’s, which you will find I do often on Monday nights……..it is quick and easy after a long work day!

Taco's

Taco's

Well that pretty much WRAPS-UP my long holiday weekend! 

Despite all the outings and events I ate pretty well, I always make exemptions for these types of weekends as they are meant to be enjoyed, just in “moderation” of course!  =)

Categories: Health & Fitness
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

