Home > Get More Energy! > Get More Energy!

Get More Energy!

Last night I had a feeling the February 2011 issue of Fitness Magazine might be waiting in the mail box for me after I saw them post on Facebook that it was on sale this week and to my pleasant surprise I was correct!

After flipping through the entire magazine while my husband played the xBox next to me I settled in to read an article called Get More Energy! 

Which, caught my eye as I have been quite low on energy since after the Holiday’s.  =(  Due to various reasons listed below…….

  • Not eating as healthy as usual, more sugar/fat intake than normal.
  • Lack of exercise at the gym and less running.
  • Very busy at works towards the end of the year, plus some news that was a bit upsetting in the new year.
  • Stress on the home front.

It was a great article and I would love to share some of the Energy Boosting Tips I learned with you…….

  • Boost Your Brain
    • Instead of numbing your mind by watching the boob tube after work, stimulate it by “taking a walk” along a scenic trail – spending time in nature helps restore people’s energy and focus.
  • Avoid the Quick Fix
    • It is no surprise that the food on your plate can be the deciding factor between a sluggish and supercharged day!  But more often than not, you don’t need a total diet overhaul; “small adjustments” can go a long way towards optimizing your energy intake.
      • A small cappuccino, tea with honey and dark chocolate, all of which contain caffeine and sugar, are perfectly legitimate “Energy Band-Aids” when you need a lift in a hurry.
  • Stick to Your Workout
    • Get this: Expending energy on exercise actually creates more for you to use!  “Research shows that physically active people feel more energetic overall than sedentary people.”  They say it is likely that exercise stimulates neurotransmitters, such as dopamine, and this creates feelings of greater energy.
  • Listen Up
    • “Music makes you feel good mentally and physically.”  After people worked out to music, their mental performance improved, compared with exercising song-less.  Music gives you that extra motivation!
  • Quit Freaking Out
    • Little everyday stressors, like sitting in traffic, can cause a total energy meltdown.  Take a deep breath when little freaks out occur and try to calm your heart rate back to normal.
  • Tap Happy Vibes
    • When you’re feeling down, your energy tanks along with your spirits, leaving you sluggish.  On the flip side, “Happy people have higher energy”!  When we are happy we take charge, initiate conversations with people and carry out plans, instead of being passive responders to life events.  “Taking action energizes us”!

What great tips, huh!?!  And, even though I knew most of them or realized how true they are I have to admit I do not always follow them but plan to going forward as I needs more energy!!!

_____________________________

In other news, I finally started taking pictures of what I have been eating again………..so take a look for your viewing pleasure.  =)

Breakfast (Tuesday)

Lunch (Tuesday)

Dinner (Tuesday)

Late Night Snack (Tuesday)

I have also gone outside for 3 mile runs after work on both Tuesday and Wednesday that lasted about 30+ minutes each. 

The weather was so nice both night and I was also lucky enough to have my daughter tag along on her new bike that she got for Christmas…….it was so nice to have her along.  =)

  1. January 20, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    Nice post! I’m bad at sticking to my workout during the winter. After work I just want to get into my “fat pants” and relax. Also, Tuesday’s dinner looks delicious.

    • January 23, 2011 at 9:52 pm

      Thank you, yeah I have a hard time getting to the gym after the holidays, but by February I am usualy back on track. Ditto on the “fat pants”, though I call them my comfy cloths. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

