Home > Uncategorized > Operation Beautiful

Operation Beautiful

 

Today, Caitlin @ HTP (Operation Beautiful) was on the Today Show to promote her newly released book and talk about “Operation Beautiful”, check out The Clip!!!  =)   

She did great and what an inspiration she is, love the positive energy she is spreading around the country………you go girl! 

I have yet to leave post-it of my own yet, despite the fact that I have been following her blog for almost a year now BUT I plan to leave the following one tonight on the “scale” at the gym as she has inspired me yet again, however this time she has inspired me to help spread the positive message she started with “Operational Beautiful”, thanks Caitlin!  

My 1st "Operation Beautiful" Post-It!

Leave a Post-It yourself at the gym, in the ladies restroom or anywhere……..I am sure you will feel great after! =) 

____________________ 

In other news I have been EATING a lot more “healthy” over the past few days and thought I should share it with you………. 

On TUESDAY I had blueberry oatmeal with fresh blueberries, a sliced banana and a scope of peanut butter for breakfast

Breakfast

Then I had another avocado black bean salad with extra veggies (carrot strips, corn, celery, cucumbers and cherry tomatoes) with lime vinaigrette dressing for lunch

Lunch

Around 4pm I snacked on a apple and a scope of peanut butter.  

Afternoon Snack

I then hit the GYM after work for a quick 31 minute and 30 second 3 mile tempo run in which I ran a 10:30 minute mile.  

However, I was supposed to do the following per my 16-Week 15K Training Plan, but I did not have enough time to complete 4 miles as I had to pick up my daughter at 6pm and I didn’t get to the gym until 5:15.

TEMPO RUN
4 miles @ 10:30

Upon my arrival home after my run and picking up my daughter I took a much-needed shower as I still sweat a ton despite running inside and only 3 miles.  =O  Than I got cracking on dinner so we could hopefully eat before 8pm for a change.  

We had fried pork chops, green bean salad (courtesy of my Mom-In-Law) and chunky applesauce for dinner.  Well, the hubs and little one also had white rice but I forgoed it myself…….trying to watch those bad carbs.  

Dinner

On WEDNESDAY I had the following “healthy eats” and I really enjoyed breakfast which was another big slice of the crustless spinach mushroom quiche I made on Sunday with some juicy red grapes.

Breakfast

Lunch was a “easy go to lunch” of toasted high-fiber whole wheat bread with peanut butter and sliced banana on top as well as some veggies and ranch dressing for dipping on the side.

Lunch

Around mid-afternoon I snacked on a lovely peach that I found in the fridge.

Afternoon Snack

It was really nice to not have to hit the GYM after work on Wednesday as I did on both Monday & Tuesday, however I still had lots of stops before I got home as I needed to do the following:

  • pick up my hubs pants at the dry cleaner
  • hit the grocery store for some last minute things
  • pick up my daughter at summer camp

And, then to my surprise when I got home the hubs decided to take us to dinner at Wendy’s as he was too hungry to wait for me to make dinner………..which I am not complaining about of course!

I had their signature Baja Salad of course, my favorite that I always get!

Dinner

The rest of the evening was spent chatting and lounging with my hubs……..who ended up sick by night fall!  =(

____________________

While at the gym on Monday night I came across an article in my Fitness Magazine from May 2010 that I just had to share with you so I will be forgoing my prevously posted “20 Ways to Lose 200 Calories” tips in order to do that.

DAILY TIPS!

Introducing……….The NEW Superfoods:  10 lesser-known superfoods that will keep your body healthy and slim without costing you a fortune at the grocery store.

Superfoods are like superstars. Brad Pitt may steal the spotlight, but Gerard Butler works just as hard.

What does that have to do with your grocery cart?

Well, simply that it doesn’t have to be full of A-listers to be award winning. “People get fixated on the idea that it’s one particular type of fish, cooking oil, or nut that will change their health,” says FITNESS advisory board member Mark Moyad, MD, MPH, author of Dr. Moyad’s No BS Health Advice.

“They don’t realize that similar foods also have solid research and may cost less.” Give these 10 foods a chance to shine in your kitchen.

 

 

 

 

 

The superstar: Blueberries

They rose to fame after researchers discovered that they have one of the highest antioxidant capacities of any fruit.

The understudy: Strawberries

These berries are another exceptional pick. They’re bursting with antioxidants; one 53-calorie cup has more vitamin C than a navel orange. Good news, since research shows that ascorbic acid, a form of vitamin C found in strawberries, may help reduce blood pressure and control levels of the stress hormone cortisol. Strawberries may also speed up your recovery after a long run or a tough kickboxing class, because they contain anthocyanins, natural pain relievers. “Consistently including these berries in your diet may mean you have less muscle pain and soreness after grueling workouts,” Dr. Moyad says. Beauty bonus: “They contain malic acid, which can act as a natural tooth whitener,” says Keri Glassman, RD, author of The O2 Diet.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. August 6, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    I love the note that you’re leaving in the gym! That is so well said. I’ve only left one note so far (“SMILE, you’re beautiful”) but you’ve inspired me to leave another one this week. :D

    • August 6, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      I like to say the saying on the note was mine but it was not, I stole it from Caitlin yesterday when she talked about notes other people have left on the Today Show. I thought it was so good and just had to leave it at the gym =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

